Cake Mix Cookies VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I used Jiffy yellow cake mix and I think I will try again but with a different brand. They had a little bit of strange aftertaste to them, almost chemically. Also they didn't flatten out on their own in the oven. I had to smash them down a little bit mid-way through baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
These were great! I love cake, so these were a beautiful combo of cake and cookie. Like a combo PB and choc. chip cookie. Everyone loved these at a recent camping trip and they stayed fabulous and fresh for days. These made about 40 cookies for me, and I didn't flatten the spoonfuls at all. I tried 10 and 12 min, and 12 minutes was definitely best. Perfectly done. Yum!! Also, I used white cake and you would never know the difference. What a great idea!! I imagine choc. cake would be great with the PB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KrisMarie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I needed a quick and easy cookie recipe to send with my husband when he left to work away from home for a week. I chose this recipe because I had all the ingredients on hand and it contained peanut butter, something he requested. I used a butter pecan cake mix (closest to yellow I had) and added a handful of peanut butter chips along with a handful of mini kisses. I used a 1/4 cup of margarine (half a stick) and added it to the water, then microwaved it for 30 seconds, just to soften it a bit. Stirred it till it was blended, then added the eggs. Found the dough super easy to work with--yippee! I forgot to time the first cookie sheet but baked them until they were golden brown. (Second sheet I timed at 14 minutes, that's when they got to the golden brown I wanted.) Don't spread much, don't worry about crowding them slightly. Look and smell really good and they practically slide off the sheet, no chiselling required. Texture-wise: EXCELLENT, like any good peanut butter cookie, the outside was slightly crispy but not hard...the inside was soft. Flavor-wise: NOT BAD, but that's not referring to the original recipe, I am sure the 'different' flavor I'm tasting is due to the butter pecan cake mix I used, because I have made another cake mix cookie with yellow cake mix and the peanut butter flavor came through alot more. These don't taste bad, not at all, just different than I expected. Still tasty. Rave reviews from my husband's work crew!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
I love how easy it was to make these. Also I made a few changes. Used butter-flavored shortening, and used 1 1/2 cups of chips. 1 cup chocolate chips 1/2 c peanut butter/milk chocolate swirls. My batter was moist, not crumbly like others reviewed. Maybe the shortening helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lichi66

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Make these all the time and my family and friends LOVE them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
AMAZING! I made these for a party and they were the best! So moist and yummy! I used crunchy peanut butter and golden butter cake mix...I will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookink8e
Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
These cookies are yummy and so easy! I mixed a little peanut butter in and they were even better. What a great idea to make whipping up a quick batch of cookies anytime easier. I also always have problems with baking at altitude (8600ft) and these were soft and chewy right out of the oven and lasted for days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Stewart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
WOW!!!just got thru baking these and they are great! i added chopped pecans and white chocolate chips because those were the ones i had. They were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
fantastic! I did 1/2 peanut butter and 1/2 almond butter and baked them on a Pampered Chef stone for 13 minutes. HUGE HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Well I'll have you know that this is the first recipe that I've made off of this site, so it was kinda special! My Mom,and My husband & I really loved these so much that I made a batch for some friends. I put the cookies on a beautiful christmas plate, then wrapped it used some transparent gift wrap and tied christmas colored ribbons that were curly cued for added fun! It was a gorgeous presentation that is very very inexpensive and truely from the heart! ~the friends~ love love loved the cookies! Thanks for a fabulous first impression of this site! deserves 10 stars! fyi ~ I added finely chopped pecans to my cookies, but then again, I am a bit of a nut! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Bryan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States