Cake Mix Cookies VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Oh my goodness, this recipe is marvelous! The peanut flavor was extremely subtle, but the cookies tasted like wonderful, completely authentic, HOMEMADE chocolate chip cookies! They also came out looking beautiful. Other cake mix cookies I've tried come out too thin and flat or too fluffy and awkward-loo, but these had a beautiful color and were just the right texture and thickness. They looked like they came from a fine bakery. I did use soy butter instead of peanut butter (as I have friends with peanut allergies), but soy butter tastes just like peanut butter to me, so I don't think that made any difference. I also used mini chocolate chips because that's what I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stanford, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
I used white cake mix and omitted the chocolate chips. The cookies were soft....almost cake like. I have used cake mix for other cookies with better success. Lemon and spice mixes make 5 star cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Aurora, New York, USA
Living In: Ajax, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
We loved these!! Just a tad bit too sweet! Wouldn't hurt to cut the amount of chocolate chips in half!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kohler, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Ozark Acres, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Very good. Next time I might decrease the chocolate chips to 1.5 cups. I love chocolate but some of the cookies were mostly chocolate chips and little dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine Tryban Gilchrist

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elk Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I am not a fan of mixes! This recipe however, is better than from scratch and i can't believe I am saying this. My son and husband are crazy over these and I will make them again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
very good !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Best cookies ever!!! Easy enough to make with my 7 year old, and how can you go wrong with ingredients like these? Now I used a combo of white, semi-sweet, and peanut butter chips. I also threw in some dried cranberries. Amazing!! These cookies were perfect. I will use this recipe over and over. The versitility was also great. You can add just about anything into the batter and it will come out awesome. Next time I plan to use chopped almonds. Cant wait!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arbuckle, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Very easy to make. I used white chocolate chips and they reminded me of white chocolate Reese cups. The batter was fairly greasy, I would probably cut down on the butter if I make these again as the peanut butter adds plenty of fat for the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alaska

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I give this recipe 5 stars! I prepared it exactly as written and the cookies were a hit at the gathering that I brought them to!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I used a mixed in some crunchy peanut butter I wanted to use up. The other thing that I did was to criss cross them with a fork so they would be more flat , that worked well ..... other wise they raise more like a little cake cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandra Zapp Winningham

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 31-40 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States