Cake Mix Cookies V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
I LOVE this recipe! I don't think I'll ever make cookies from scratch again; plus there are so many variations that can be done with this. A few that I have tried are: Coconut cake mix, with 1/2 cup shredded coconut, 1/2 cup macadamia nuts, and 1/2 cup chocolate chips; Lemon cake mix with 1 cup white chocolate chips; Strawberry cake mix with 1/2 cup shredded coconut and 3/4 cup white chocolate chips; Carrot cake mix with 2/3 cup oats and 1/2 cup raisins. YUMMY! I have so many more flavors to experiment with! I did find that I had to bake them a bit longer than the recipe called for, about 11-12 minutes. Try this one, you won't regret it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
Didn't have a yellow mix so instead used a devil's food. Also used margarine. I didn't press down, left them in balls, as I like a cakier, softer cookie. These were delish! They tasted like little brownies. The only other mod. I used nuts and choc. chips, and M&M's to equal 1/2 cup total. These were not sticky at all and were a snap to make, economical, and very uniform because the dough was beautiful to work with and easily made so with the help of a cookie scoop. I only had an ALDI'S brand mix which is super cheepo and they still were wonderful. Didn't taste like a mix at all. Versatile recipe and so quick and easy, not to mention good-tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
My mother made these for my kids when she came to visit. She used a lemon cake mix and added a package of lemonade kool-aid and a Tbls. of lemon juice. These were sooooo good. I can't wait to try other variations......... I just tried another concoction of a spice cake mix with craisins, raisins, and walnuts. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anjilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Americus, Kansas, USA
Living In: Iuka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
I have been using this recipe for a few years now and just noticed that I have never reviewed it! This is my favorite recipe when I need to make some cookies in a pinch. I always have a cake mix, eggs, butter and oatmeal on hand, then I can add in whatever else is handy. We have done all sorts of combos using things like chocolate chips, toffee bits, coconut, raisins, nuts, white chocolate chips, etc. They are universally loved by everyone who has eaten one. I wouldn't say these are a top tier gourmet cookie, but they are so darn tasty considering how incredibly quick and easy they are to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2004
GREAT cookie. Very tasty and very easy to make. I thouroughly enjoyed the very large amount that I ate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2003
This batter goes together easily and quickly. They would be great roll & bake, but I used my cookie scoop and flattened them a little because they don't spread much. I substituted with a chocolate cake mix and peanut butter chips instead of nuts then sprinkled powder sugar after baking. They were crispy and chewy in all the right places!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
These are the best cookies I have ever made! I made these with some vanilla extract, chocolate chips and peanut butter chips. I flattened them a bit before putting them in the oven and baked them for only 8 minutes (they were just barely golden on top when I took them out). I will never make cookies from scratch again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2001
This recipe couldn't be easier!!! I substituted white cake mix for pecan mix and added pecans instead of walnuts. I also increased the baking time to 14 minutes because I used a baking stone instead of a cookie sheet. More of our favorites include cherry cake mix with white coconut, chocolate mix with walnuts and golden mix with raisons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I just drug them out of the oven and I have already eaten two! I used golden butter cake mix and walnuts. I WILL be keeping this recipe around!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I had some slightly outdated cake mixes that I wanted to use, and the first one was coconut cake. Found this recipe, and made it according to the directions, replacing the yellow cake mix with coconut cake mix, omitting the walnuts (my kids don't like them) and adding 1/2 cup of shredded coconut and 3/4 cup of chocolate chips. I baked them until they were just slightly browned. They just came out of the oven and they are excellent! They don't taste like other cake mix cookies I've made, which had a rather "off" flavor. These taste like little candy bars (think Mounds) in a cookie form. They are wonderful! I know I'll be making these again. Update: Made two more variations. In the first I used Butter Recipe Golden cake mix, increased the oatmeal to 1 cup and added 3/4 cup butterscotch chips. They were wonderful! The second variation used a lemon supreme cake mix, 1 cup oatmeal, 1/2 tsp. lemon juice and 3/4 cup white chocolate chips. We really liked these also, but not as much as the other two. Just a flavor preference. Our very favorite are the coconut chocolate chip. For all varieties, I used a small scoop and baked them rounded on the sheet, not flattened, and they cooked for about 11-12 minutes. I think the oatmeal might be the ingredient that makes these not taste so much like cake. I decide how much to add based on the stickiness of the batter, and add enough to make it more of a cookie dough, rather than a cake mix, consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States