Cake Mix Cookies V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Easy to make, VERY sticky dough, I didn't use the Walnuts. Cookies are kinda cake like in texture rather than cookie texture....Kids LOVED them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I substituted chocolate chips for the walnuts !!! Delicious soft cookies !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I had some slightly outdated cake mixes that I wanted to use, and the first one was coconut cake. Found this recipe, and made it according to the directions, replacing the yellow cake mix with coconut cake mix, omitting the walnuts (my kids don't like them) and adding 1/2 cup of shredded coconut and 3/4 cup of chocolate chips. I baked them until they were just slightly browned. They just came out of the oven and they are excellent! They don't taste like other cake mix cookies I've made, which had a rather "off" flavor. These taste like little candy bars (think Mounds) in a cookie form. They are wonderful! I know I'll be making these again. Update: Made two more variations. In the first I used Butter Recipe Golden cake mix, increased the oatmeal to 1 cup and added 3/4 cup butterscotch chips. They were wonderful! The second variation used a lemon supreme cake mix, 1 cup oatmeal, 1/2 tsp. lemon juice and 3/4 cup white chocolate chips. We really liked these also, but not as much as the other two. Just a flavor preference. Our very favorite are the coconut chocolate chip. For all varieties, I used a small scoop and baked them rounded on the sheet, not flattened, and they cooked for about 11-12 minutes. I think the oatmeal might be the ingredient that makes these not taste so much like cake. I decide how much to add based on the stickiness of the batter, and add enough to make it more of a cookie dough, rather than a cake mix, consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
Doesn't taste anything like real cookies, but a good short-cut. Something about yellow cake mix just doesn't taste right to me, I guess, even though the oats and walnuts were a good choice. The good thing is this recipe is easy to change up, using the same measurements but various ingredients. Tonight's sweet-tooth attack was handled by a spare box of vanilla cake mix, 1/2 cup sweetened coconut, 1/4 cup sliced almonds, 1 tsp almond extract, 1/4 cup oil, and a splash of milk. The kidlet loved them and named them Puffy Clouds. I still prefer the real thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I wasn't a big fan of these. The texture was odd for a cookie, and I couldn't get them to look appealing - just looked like strange blobs of cake dough?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luetang

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This recipe is super easy and very little clean up. However I read several other recipes just like this and made a few changes. 1st - use 1 1/4 cups of quick oats otherwise the batter and cookie are mushy. 2nd - add 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla, you may want to add more. otherwise cookie just tastes like a piece of cake. we don't like nuts so I made one batch as a sugar cookie and the other with chocolate chips. I really liked them and so did my family but it is not the same as a regular chocolate chip cookie and that is why I gave the recipe 4 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
A great cookie when made at midnight to take to a grandchild in college. I used the tiny M & M's and some pecans in the dough. Crispy and delicious. They were truly appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Kenagy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worthington, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I loved this recipe!! it was fast and easy. I didnt add any chocolate chips bc i didnt have any, i just added oatmeal and raisins. They were sweet and did taste like cake, like a cookie cake, hahaha. everyone @ home loved them. its a wonderful alternative to when u feel like making some homemade cookies but dnt have all the ingredients. For Valentines i am going to make these with devils food cake, chocochips, and walnuts ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CeeRomero

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
These were outstanding! I divided the dough into 4ths and stirred choc chips into one batch, raisins and cinnamon in another, butterscotch chips and cinnamon in another, and butterscotch chips, raisins and cinnamon in the last.... one was as good as the other, loved them all! My only complaint with this recipe is the oatmeal gets a little lost in there, next time I may add more and a little more liquid to compensate (another egg maybe or a little water?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bev511

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
These are easy and fantastic! Endless combination possibilities. Up next- spice cake mix with white chocolate chips or cream cheese icing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States