Cake Mix Cookies IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I added a 10 oz. jar of maraschino cherries (drained and squished with fingers), almond extract (splash), only 1 egg (I like crunchy cookies). Rolled balls in sugar , put on a baking sheet (with silpat) , smashed down - excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Marshall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Easy! Made these in the morning, while my youngest was getting ready for school... she was eating them before her bus arrived! I used the french vanilla cake mix by Betty Crocker, and with that box I was only able to make 1-1/2 dozen cookies. I used one egg, not two - but you can use two, if you want them more cake-like. I rolled them in a cinnamon-sugar mixture (very generously), and then flattened them slightly on the parchment covered cookie sheet. They did not take long to cook, I did not time them, just eye-balled them. I take them out before they appear done, and are still soft on top... they harden afterwards, if they are hardening when you take out - you are overcooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Schoth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
As written in the recipe these are simple, not too sweet cookies... great if adding frosting & sprinkles on top! However you can use any type of cake mix to make any flavor cookies you want! i also tried a batch using triple chocolate fudge flavor cake mix & added 1/4 cup brown sugar, baked 8mins; which came out crunchy on the outside & chewy in the centers. SIMPLE PERFECTION!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
These were extremely simple to make. Prep time was about 5 minutes and bake time was about 10. I used party chip cake mix and canola oil instead of vegetable oil. I think next time I'm going to add white chocolate chips and/or frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Saviano

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I tried this as a quick treat the day before school was back in for the fall. One kid loved them and the other hated them so it went over 50/50 I guess. On the plus side it makes for light soft cookies. I added colored sprinkles like in the pic as the cake mix I had was just plain white (as stated in the ingredients). As far as cooking time it took longer than stated .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
Great recipe, will probably use chocolate cake mix instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Good! We had a hankering for some sweets but I didn't have much in the house to bake anything with. I grabbed a box of Red Velvet cake mix that has been sitting around for a while and gave this recipe a spin. They're not my favorite cookies in the world, but I give them five stars for how easy they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin-DUH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I made this recipe with lemon cake mix, the zest of one lime, and about a teaspoon of homemade lemon extract. My dad says that I need to make something less tasty to bring to church tomorrow. :) I used a little more than 1/3 cup of oil, and a little less than 1/2 cup. and I only made two dozen out of one cake mix, adjusting bake time accordingly. next up, spice cake with cream cheese frosting...or maybe triple fudge with peanut butter chips...or...(there's too many variations to decide now)this recipe is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I absolutely hate making cookies, but this recipe seemed so easy I had to try it. I took the advice of other reviews that said there was to much oil, so I used 1/4 cup of softened butter and a 1/4 cup of oil. I also added sprinkles to the mix. I made the balls about 1/2 inch round (I spray my hands with cooking spray). I flattened them with a fork dipped in sugar (like you would peanut butter cookies). I baked for about 10 minutes. I then added powdered sugar glaze to the tops (after cooling) and they are really good. Hubby likes them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I had an overabundance of cake mix in the house, so I decided to give this a try. I used a yellow cake mix and cut the oil to 1/3 cup. I then added aprox 1/2 cup of peanut butter and a mixture of choc chips and candy pieces to finish up some miscellaneious bags in the cupboard. Turned out great. This recipe is a great base. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banshezmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 623) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States