Cake Mix Cookies IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I used white cake mix with the pudding, I thought they were a little grainy, but the kids and hubs ate them all up and I can't beat the amount of time it took to make them. I gave them a light powder sugar glaze and they tasted pretty close to a sugar cookie with just a bit of a texture difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ari

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Cake mixes bought with the best of intentions have been sitting in our cabinet for far too long -- and then I ran across this recipe yesterday. 20 minutes later, I had 2 dozen great cookies. My edges were a little thin and crisp, but that was MY FAULT; I didn't follow the directions and roll the dough into little balls, but just dropped the dough onto the pan. I will be more diligent next time. A cookie recipe really can't get any simpler than this and still be any good. NOTE that most of the reviewers who gave this recipe less than 5 Stars had *changed* the recipe. My advice is to follow the recipe exactly (2 eggs and 1/2 cup of oil with an 18.25 ounce box of cake mix) without adding, subtracting, or changing anything -- then get creative on the next go-round, if you like. That way you KNOW if your changes improved on the original or not. Just for kicks, I made a frosting mix and topped some of the cookies with it. That was good, too. I think the real beauty of this recipe is that it is SO simple, yet results in good cookies. That said, a little imagination (or just checking out what other reviewers added) can give you a wide variety of cookies with just a simple addition or two. Have fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calumet City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This was quick and easy and delicious! I didn't have a white cake mix, so I used an orange cake mix. I made a drizzle out of powdered sugar and the juice from half an orange. I also made a drizzle from a couple of squares of dark chocolate. I drizzled the cookies one direction with the orange and the other direction with the chocolate. They were so pretty! And they tasted like a dreamsicle. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Just a word of caution: The recipe calls for an 18.25 oz. box of cake mix. I thought all cake mixes were in the same size box. After I had assembled the recipe and it was really sticky, I glanced at the box I used, and it was 15.25 oz. That really is enough to make the recipe not work. I added some other to it and my husband and I could tell it was a really good recipe. Just be sure to check the size of your cake mix, it makes all the difference in the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
not bad - was looking for something to make with an almost empty pantry. Added chocolate chips to half the batch - those were pretty good. I added sprinkles to the other half of the batch and they were so-so... they were also over baked. It was hard to gauge when they were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Used the dark chocolate cake mix with Hershey's special dark syrup, 1/2 bag dark chooolate chips, and the original recipe. Very moist and tender, did not flatten out much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Babb, Montana, USA
Living In: Middleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
These were just okay. I was really bothered by all the oil when I was mixing up these cookies -- it just did not look like the powdery mix and the oil wanted to be one thing. The oil kept seeping out of the dough and I had so much oil left over in the bowl when I was finished. I was just super not impressed. That said, the taste was pretty good and they came together very quickly. I think maybe I would add a bit of applesauce or yoghurt and cut the oil a bit, just to bring these together a bit better. I ended up using these cookies for ice cream sandwiches which were a big hit. Not sure if I'd make the recipe again as-is, but with some adjustments I might try it again someday. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I have used this several times, experimenting with different cake mixes. My favorites have been with Lemon Cake Mix, and Chocolate mix... I added vanilla and white choc chips to the lemon, and choc chips and walnuts to the chocolate cake mix. They are delicious even plain though. It is so very easy, and so scrumptious, and with holidays coming, they are so easy to ad-lib with other ingredients... Try them, you will love them I am sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2013
Great easy recipe, but I will increase the baking time next time. I added chocolate chips and baked for 7 minutes but they are too doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Easy, soft, and tasty. Anything else is superfluous. I had some Halloween cake mix and needed something for a friend's granddaughters for school. Two boxes cake mix, 1 cup oil, 6 eggs = 70 cookies. PERFECT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Swartz Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 586) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States