Cake Mix Cookies IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
This is about as easy as it gets for a cookie recipe. Rip open a box of cake mix, plop in two eggs and a little oil, and voila! Great cookies! I made mine too big, so by the time they cooked on top, the bottoms were pretty well done. Just follow the recipe and make "little balls" and you'll be good to go! UPDATE: I made these the next night with lemon cake mix. I scooped a bit up with a teaspoon, rolled it in a ball, dipped it in sugar and baked. They were super delicious. Another Update: We made these with dark chocolate cake mix and 1/2 bag of chocolate chips. The best yet! Perfection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
549 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
I LOVE this recipe! I love it's versatility and how quickly it can be prepared. I've tried several variations so far...yellow cake mix, with a chocolate drizzle...this were ok. Then I tried chocolate cookies, rolling some of the balls in powdered sugar, and some in cocoa powder. The cocoa powder disappeared, both in flavor and appearance. But the powdered sugar comes out really nicely and tastes great. However, my favorite variation so far was the one I just tried. I followed the recipe exactly...choosing a BC Butter Pecan Cake mix. Then I rolled the balls in a mixture of powdered sugar and cinnamon. When I put them on the cookie sheet, I flattened them into little patties with my fingertips. I let them bake just until they had risen a little. I pulled them out before they had a chance to brown really (the cinnamon gives that appearance) and they were still very chewy in the middle when they were all cool. I think it was about 7-8 minutes. They were DIVINE! I think they're my favorite cookie of all time, even better than chocolate chip cookies. So try this variation, I think you'll like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
493 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniLynne

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
These are great cookies when you don't want to mess with a lot of indgredients. I read all of the reviews on the cookies with cake mixes and this is what I came up with. I used 2 eggs, a yellow cake mix with pudding, 1/2 cup of oil, 2 teaspoons vanilla, and 1 1/3 cups quick cooking oatmeal. I used a cookie scoop, patted the cookies flat and dipped them in a mix of cinnamon and sugar. I baked them on a stone for about 10 minutes. I removed them when they were still pretty gooey in the middle. I let them sit on the cookie sheet for at least 2 minutes before removing them to cool on foil. The next day, they are still crisp on the outside and chewy on the inside. They turned out like "snickerdoodles" which is one of my families favorites. My kids loved these, they were so easy to make, and I enjoyed one with a cup of coffee this morning. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
286 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Miller Motley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
Can you believe this recipe only has 3 ingredients?!?! It is AWESOME. My husband said they were the best cookies I ever made. I used Cherry Chip Cake Mix and added 1 1/2 Cups of Semi Sweet Chocolate Chips. Wow. Soooooo Good! I recommend putting them in an airtight container. If you do this, they'll stay soft for 3+ days. I am going to try other combos like, Fun Chip Cake Mix with White Chocolate Chips or Chocolate Cake Mix with White Chocolate Chips and Macadamia Nuts or Banana Cake with Butterscotch Chips or White Cake Mix with Buttercream Frosting. Have fun with this recipe, it ROCKS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Joy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellflower, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
I had a pineapple cake mix I really didn't know what to do with. I like to buy mixes just for cookies, and I like to try different recipes on here using them. I added 10 oz can drained crushed pineapple (squeezing out through 2 coffee filters works better than a collander) and 1/3 cup shredded coconut. Had half a tangerine and grated the zest of it also. These made a wonderfully fluffy soft cake-like cookie. Some of the coconut toasted which gave it a really nice flavor. These were a wonderful combination with the pineapple mix, crushed pineapple, and coconut. The batter was a softer batter I think because of the crushed pineapple, and although they did spread a bit, they weren't flat, but rose nicely and very soft. Very nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2005
Great, easy recipe. I used the white cake mix and added vanilla and pecans b/c this was all I had on hand. They were very moist. I'm anxious to try other variations. Hint... to keep cookies moist - stick a piece of bread in with them in an air tight container and this will help to keep cookies soft for longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
Awesome and so simple (don't even need a mixer)- I took popsicle sticks and stuck them in the balls of dough before baking - the kids loved frosting and decorating to make their own "lollipops".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Colorado, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
My mother-in-law gave me a recipe similar to this that called for rolling the dough into a ball around a Rolo candy and then rolling the cookie in powdered sugar before baking. The finished cookies have a cool crinkly look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
YUMMY. These were delicious and easy. They didn't have as much "sweet" as the cookies that I am used to. I did add some vanilla and some milk chocolate chips. Have to admit the cooking time threw me...there is a huge difference between 4 and 10 minutes...mine took about 8 1/2 to 9. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
These taste strange. I would not use a cake mix for cookies anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie824

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 610) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States