Cake Mix Cookies IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Good! We had a hankering for some sweets but I didn't have much in the house to bake anything with. I grabbed a box of Red Velvet cake mix that has been sitting around for a while and gave this recipe a spin. They're not my favorite cookies in the world, but I give them five stars for how easy they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin-DUH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2013
I made this recipe with lemon cake mix, the zest of one lime, and about a teaspoon of homemade lemon extract. My dad says that I need to make something less tasty to bring to church tomorrow. :) I used a little more than 1/3 cup of oil, and a little less than 1/2 cup. and I only made two dozen out of one cake mix, adjusting bake time accordingly. next up, spice cake with cream cheese frosting...or maybe triple fudge with peanut butter chips...or...(there's too many variations to decide now)this recipe is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I absolutely hate making cookies, but this recipe seemed so easy I had to try it. I took the advice of other reviews that said there was to much oil, so I used 1/4 cup of softened butter and a 1/4 cup of oil. I also added sprinkles to the mix. I made the balls about 1/2 inch round (I spray my hands with cooking spray). I flattened them with a fork dipped in sugar (like you would peanut butter cookies). I baked for about 10 minutes. I then added powdered sugar glaze to the tops (after cooling) and they are really good. Hubby likes them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I had an overabundance of cake mix in the house, so I decided to give this a try. I used a yellow cake mix and cut the oil to 1/3 cup. I then added aprox 1/2 cup of peanut butter and a mixture of choc chips and candy pieces to finish up some miscellaneious bags in the cupboard. Turned out great. This recipe is a great base. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by banshezmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Middletown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Love these. Always a good last minute cookie. Easy to have supplies on hand. I know it takes away from the simplicity, but if you add about 1/2 c flour, 1/4 c brown sugar or so, a good dose of vanilla, about 1/2 tsp of baking soda and a pinch of salt it kills a bit of the cake mix flavor. Try it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
I used a 15.25 oz white cake mix and used melted butter instead of oil. I only used about 1/3 cup butter to compensate for the smaller size mix. I added a teaspoon each of vanilla and almond extracts. Instead of rolling balls (I didn't let the dough chill) I just used a spoon to scoop rounded tablespoons. I dipped the dough in powdered sugar before placing the ball-type shapes on the cookie sheet. I baked them for about 8 minutes and they turned out wonderful! Crunchy on the outside but soft on the inside. These are going to be dangerous...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delightfulcrab

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Living In: Birch Bay, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
What really makes this recipe awesome is to add the canned frosting after they are baked. My favorite is lemon with lemon icing and strawberry is very good as well. With all the flavors available, the options are almost unlimited!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe! I only tried them because I was in a pinch for cookies but was out of butter/margarine. I made a few changes (added coconut and then rolled the balls in cinnamon and sugar). I also cooked them for a bit longer (about 12 minutes) but they are DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saintcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
I was feeling less than ambitious, and unwilling to put forth the effort to follow through with a recipe that requires three or more ingredients. So i found this recipe, thinking that it wouldnt take rocket science to make something tasty to put in my mouth. UNfortunately, the dough turned into a goopy mess. They baked alright, even though it only takes about four minutes if your oven is fueled by hellfire itself. otherwise the cookies take about an eon and a half. And although they now require a fork and knife and the occasional straw to eat, i would say... not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 587) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States