Cake Mix Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
It’s a great recipe with adjustments!! Otherwise it wouldn’t have received 5 stars. I took the advice and added 1Tbsp of water to the recipe. It was still crumbly (dough pulling away from the chips) and when baked grainy in texture-ugh! I added more water and reworked the dough. Then the cookie had more of a cookie dough consistency and baked nicely. The cookies spread and had a much better chewy texture!!! I really liked the adjusted cookie recipe. The combinations are endless Here are my changes/recommendations: Devil’s food cake mix (with pudding in the mix), white chocolate chips, 3 Tbsp water, baked at 350 for 10 minutes(not 7)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
I made these for the UT VOLS / Fla Gator football game tonight. I truly didn't have high hopes for this recipe when I was mixing these up, the batter just didn't seem right. I added 1 TSP of water. I used devils food cake mix and white chocolate chunks and let me tell you - these are out of this world! To be so easy these were very good! I think those that might not be getting good results might want to change cake mixes. I used a mix that had pudding in it. Thanks for the post! I am going to try different variations for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2003
These are good if you add 2-3 T. of water to the dough..otherwise the dough doesn't spread at all when baked..my first batch of cookies w/o water had the same shape when they were done as they did when i put them it! then i added 2 T. water and the rest of them were fine. i used choc. cake mix with choc. chips and walnuts, the walnuts helped them not to be so sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2000
These cookies are fantastic. I used a devil's food cake mix and peanut butter chips, and carefully followed the 10 minute on-the-pan cooling time. The baking time was also about right for my oven. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
I followed the recipe exactly and did not find these cookies oily at all. I did find the batter very crumbly and difficult to get on the cookie sheet. I was trying to use a scoop to do this and had to reform the cookies after scooping out of the bowl. Also, the cookies do not spread a lot. I don't have an issue with that, if you like thin crisp cookies you should be warned. I used a triple chocolate cake mix and Andes mint chips. After making both this recipe and Cake Mix Cookies I, my husband decided he liked this recipe better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
My husband came home from work and said that I needed to make cookies made with strawberry cake mix and white chocolate chips (of course he had no recipe). So I found this recipe and used stawberry cake mix and semi-sweet chocolate and white chocolate swirl chips. OMG!!! They are so good!! My husband says that they are better with just the white chocolate but I like these! I still have a batch in the oven now! I do have to cook them for almost 15 min to get them to the point that they don't fall apart when you pick them up. I will defiantly make these often!!! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMSLADY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burton, Texas, USA
Living In: Selma, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2000
Wow! These were fast, easy and a big hit. I had rainbow chips in the cupboard but didn't know what to do with them. I added them with french vanilla cake mix and this recipie turned out great. (but a little on the sweet side) My family devoured them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
My girls and I just made these and they were great! I always thought that cookies made with cake mix would be...well cakey. They were nothing like that. I used a butter cake mix and didn't have enough semi sweet chips so I mixed semi sweet and milk choc chips. I left them in the oven for @ 9 min. They don't look done, but after they cool it's great. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
This was the worst recipe I've ever made. The cookies tasted like grease balls. There is too much oil in them. I don't understand how it got such good reviews from others. I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I've made cake mix cookies before and didn't care for the 'cakey' taste. These, however, are amazing! I thought that the brown sugar might make them too sweet but it didn't. These are chewy and moist. I added walnuts for the second batch instead of the chips and they were just like brownies! For reference, I used BC Devil's Food and, instead of adding water like others' have suggested, I just dampened my hands when I rolled them into balls. This one is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOLLEEZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States