Cake Mix Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
I made 4 dozen cookies with a variation of this recipe. Of course the boxes of cake mix no longer come in the 18.25 ounce size, the manufacturers have reduced them to 16.5 ounces so I measured the additional cake mix out of a second box to get the 18.25 ounces that the recipe requires. I used yellow cake mix instead of chocolate because that's what I prefer but chocolate mix would have worked perfectly for those who prefer chocolate. I wasn't sure about only using one egg since I read the cake mix cookie recipes I - VIII and all of them called for two eggs except for this recipe. So, I decided to use two eggs. I prefer a true buttery taste so instead of the 3/4 cup vegetable oil called for in the recipe I used 1/4 cup vegetable oil and 1/2 cup melted butter. Next, I added 1/4 cup light brown sugar. And finally, instead of 2 cups butterscotch chips I used 1/2 cup EACH butterscotch chips, chocolate chips, chopped pecans and flaked coconut. I did use a mixer and I rolled the cookie dough into balls about one inch in diameter then placed 12 on each cookie sheet and baked at 350°F for 11 minutes. Follow the recipe from this point. THE COOKIES WERE DELICIOUS ! The great thing about this cake mix cookie recipe is you can change the flavor of the cake mix and mix and match the added ingredients to suit your taste. Try it. If it doesn't come out exactly as you like the first time, keep mixing and matching up different ingredients until you find the perfect cookie for you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MetaSpiritualMichael

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Plant City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Used chocolate cake, and baked on the airbake cookie sheets. Took 10 min. Have to let set 10 min or will fall apart. OK if you want chocolate and something easy, but the homemade double chocolate cookie recipe from Hershey's is much better and tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Amazing! I substituted melted butter instead of the oil and had no texture problems at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by belle
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
love it! so easy and fast taste like warm oreos
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belle
Home Town: Aptos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
These were delicious....like others I added 2 tsp of water to moisten the mix. I added 1 cup of chocolate chips and 1 cup of shredded coconut....to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Stellar! I thought the cookies would turn out cakey - what a wonderful surprise. They are super easy and great when in a crunch for time. They were crispy on the edges but soft inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
I had white chocolate chips in the freezer, so I used those. I've had cake mix cookies before and didn't like them.. these I liked a lot. I did add a tiny bit of water.. maybe a tablespoon or two
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I've made cake mix cookies before and didn't care for the 'cakey' taste. These, however, are amazing! I thought that the brown sugar might make them too sweet but it didn't. These are chewy and moist. I added walnuts for the second batch instead of the chips and they were just like brownies! For reference, I used BC Devil's Food and, instead of adding water like others' have suggested, I just dampened my hands when I rolled them into balls. This one is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOLLEEZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Newmarket, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Many , many times.... use it almost monthly and make in large quantities for our Godzone kids at church. they all love it...nice thing about this recipe is that it is easy to make..... a child can make the cookies with supervision of course....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lydd

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
I've been making this for years, in all kinds of flavors. I've used 2 eggs and 1/3 c oil and found that version too much like Archway cookies. I use 1 egg, 1/3 cup of oil (or melted butter), 2-3 tsp of water, and a little vanilla. I've made chocolate chip, chocolate peanutbutter chip, snickerdoodles and trying out red velvet peppermint tonight. This never fails and tastes far better than refrigerator dough or cookie mix. Faster than scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States