Cake Mix Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I have just discovered cake mix cookies! Our favorite is red velvet with white chocolate chips. Rather than drop the cookies, I form the batter into a roll in wax paper and refrigerate for a few hours until stiff, then cut into 16 slices and cut each slice into half and roll into a ball, place 16 cookies on large cookie sheets lined with parchment paper and flatten the cookies with a glass to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This recipe is indeed endless..limited only by your imagine of combinations. These will store well if you place them in a sealed container and then lay a piece of wax paper on top of the cookies and then place a slice of soft bread such as Wonder Bread on top of the wax paper. I have even shipped many baked goods including cake mix cookies over seas to our troops and it worked well to keep them fresh and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
I tried this version of cake mix cookies for my first time ever of this type of cookie. It took about 15 minutes to mix up (by hand) and ten minutes to bake. Two dozen cookies in half an hour--perfect. After reading the reviews about dryness and texture, I added an extra egg to keep them moist and give a cakier, chewier, texture. They kept three days in a thick plastic bread bag. So far, I twice used a yellow mix with two cups of raisins instead of chips, and once a carrot cake mix with 1 1/2 cups of sweetened, shredded coconut with natural pineapple flavoring from King Arthur. My coworkers loved them. I'm going to try chocolate fudge with raisins to see if I can get a chocolate-covered raisin flavor. (Can you tell I like raisins?) Another tip about dry cookies/brownies. Most bakers bake them too long, until they're fully set and done. Instead, you should bake them less time because they'll continue to bake after you remove them from the oven. Trust me. I got the tip from Cook's Illustrated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hope.h

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
Quick and Easy! Parchment paper is my best friend when baking cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jpmccn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Quick, ultra easy, and very tasty. I made a batch with lemon cake mix and white chocolate chips and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
Loved it..I had some candied pineapple, who knows how long or even where I got it. After reading this recipe I used a package of Pineapple Upside Down cake mix and added those candied pineapple chunks. My family raved about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
So quick and easy and yummy. One batch I made was Red Vlevet. Sprinkled those with powdered sugar. Another was French Vanilla with sprinkles mixed in. Last was Devils Food with Andes mints. All turned out delish. The Andes Mints cookies were prob the crowd fav, but I liked them all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
This is a great make-with-your-kids cookie and to make something sweet with the dredges of your pantry, but that's about it. I used devil's food cake mix, butter instead of vegetable oil, organic eggs and M&M's instead of chocolate chips. I've always used a half cup of butter for cake mix cookies and even upping the amount of butter, these still turned out dry. Noone really ate these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I have this recipe memorised. I can't keep them on the tray when I make them. I have a friend who lives in another city. Before visiting, he phones and asks me to make a batch for him to pick up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amaturecook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
I've never been a fan of yellow cake, but this recipe gives me a good reason to keep it around. These won't pass for 'regular' cookies in my house, but they're sweet and satisfy the cookie craving quickly. Instead of 2 cups of chips, I did 1 cup of butterscotch chips and 3/4 cup of chopped walnuts. They all got eaten. A good recipe to have on hand when I'm feeling too lazy to make real cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States