Cake Mix Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 27, 2006
These are very good. I found the batter to be too think to even mix the chips in so I added a couple of tablespoons of water. This seems to have solved the issue. I used a french vanilla cake mix and dark chocolate raspberry chips. I suspect the issues I had with the cookies after baking had to do with the chips. They were very large and it made the cookies too soft to pick up. I let them rest for 10 minutes, but this seems to have helped only marginally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
I thought these were just OK (they are very sweet) but my family loves them. I used a yellow cake mix & butterscotch chips. Will make again just because they are soo easy & my family really likes them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2006
I tried this tonight for first time. So easy!! Couldn't believe how good they turned out. Even my husband who is a professional chef was impressed! Kids loved them too. Easy enough for them to make! I added 2 tablespoons of water and a little extra oil. (so it mixed better)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2006
These cookies are(were) so good! They almost tasted like a brownie! I got 30 fairly good sized cookies out of the recipe, I used a Dark Chocolate Fudge cake mix, and only used 1 cup of chips instead of 2.(Our house is counting calories!) I was out of the kitchen in 30 minutes! THEY WERE SO EASY! They only took 5 minutes to mix and put on the cookie sheets. I will be making these again! They would be great for people we had small children who wanted to help out in the kitchen! If you've got a spare cake mix you've got to try these. THANKS NICOLE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michaela.K9

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Augustine, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
supernanny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
I wanted to whip up a batch of cookies to give away but didn't have butter so this was the perfect answer. I should mention that I turned oven oven before I started and by the time I had these whipped up and two cookie sheets prepared, my oven was just finishing the preheating...now that is quick. Ease of prep and ingredients, as well as versatility make this a great recipe for busy moms....children could make these. I didn't add the extra water..used a 'golden butter recipe' mix, added butterscotch and white choc. morsels. The first batch just came out and it is a wonderful tasting combo. Good to read reviews to find out they dry out quickly...the old slice of bread always does the trick. Lightly sprayed cookie sheets and would recommend not letting these sit too long before removal or they would stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
As a girl I remember baking orange-chocolate chip cookies with a friend and they were delicious! Years later, I searched for the recipe and thankfully found it here!! I've made three batches already. The orange cake mix was tooooo much orange, but spice cake with raisins and banana with chocolate chips turned out great. Perhaps next time I will bake a couble batch using one orange cake mix and one white to tone it down. The possibilities are endless. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2005
The fastest tastiest cookies ever. i used devils food cake mix with peanut butter chips who knew!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aquariuscook

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: May 29, 2005
Used the same method to make Oatmeal Raisin cookies, and they were excellent! One package yellow cake mix, 2 cups quick-cooking oats, 1 cup sugar, 1 cup veg oil, 2 large eggs and 1/2 cup each raisins and nuts. I used 1 1/2 teaspoons of maple extract (instead of vanilla) and walnuts. Bake on parchment paper, they don't spread out too much and stay soft inside, slightly crisp outside. My husband loved them, and he "only likes Tollhouse cookies."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2005
Everyone in my family ate one, and the rest just sat there for days. I followed the recipe to the T, and added the 2 T water as suggested. I wish I'd use the cake mix for a cake (which would have been VERY welcomed by my family!) and a cookie recipie for cookies....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States