Cake Mix Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
These cookies were very good. My son and I used a marble cake mix and made half and half cookies (half yellow/half chocolate). I used a tsp of vanilla and 2 tbsps of water in the yellow batter as others have suggested. We put chocolate chips in both the yellow and chocolate batter. We dropped the yellow batter onto the cookie sheet first. Then we dropped slightly less than an equal amount of chocolate batter on top. The cookies needed about 10 minutes in my oven (which runs a little hot) and looked beautiful, with the yellow and chocolate cooking into a nice swirl patterned cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emi
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
these are FANTASTIC!! i substituted applesauce for the oil, and used 1 egg and 1 egg white (ran out of whole eggs). Added 2Tbs water as suggested. I made these with lemon cake mix, a few squirts of lemon juice, a handful of shredded coconut and a handful of white choco chips. These are so quick and easy- 1 bowl, 10 minutes... what more can you want?! I dropped these by the Tbs and got about 30 cookies. Can't wait to try this with other cake varieties... YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Mercerville, New Jersey, USA
Photo by CupcakePolly
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
These are probably the best cake mix cookie I've tried. I used a strawberry cake mix and added 1/2 tsp vanilla extract and 1/4 tsp of almond extract. Fantastic! I also kept them covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I have used a version of this recipe for years. I almost always have cake mix in the cupboard, so this is a great one to use when you need homemade cookies quickly. I have used Devil's food and Lemon cake mixes, but have never mixed anything in. I will have to try that next time. Roll the balls in powdered sugar before you bake for a nice effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HillaryB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Avondale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Very Good! Works with several cake mixes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
A white cake mix works just fine, too. I also added an extra egg b/c it seemed a bit dry. Next time I would try adding 2 tbs. water instead, as the other reviewers suggest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I absolutely love this recipe! These cookies are a hit with all my friends. I like to add only about 1 to 1 1/2 c chocolate chips (mini best) because 2 c is too much. Plus I add about 2 T milk and a small package of instant vanilla pudding. It makes the cookies much softer. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
These are very easy to make when your in a rush. I chose a strawberry cake mix since I was making them for a Valentines's party.I also chopped up some Hershey's Hugs, the Raspberry White Creme ones and added them. It's a pink cookies with little pieces of white chocolate and milk chocolate in it.The strawberry cake mix is very artificial tasting, I would not recommend using it. It's not the recipes fault,it's my poor judgement. Choose a flavor you know you'll like. They also seemed very oily when making, but they up baked fine. I'm going to reduce the oil to 1/4 cup in my batch of chocolate and see how they turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Super easy and super yummy! Used Dark Chocolate cake, that's all I had. 4 Tbsp. of water as suggested by others. Very rich! Another review said if cake and brownie came together and had a baby, this is what it tastes like....so true!! Best of both worlds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg R.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
Easy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States