Cake Mix Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
French Vanilla with chocolate chips are our favorite. The variety of cake mixes that can be used is endless! I rolled the dough of chocolate cake mix balls in icing sugar and it gave it a nice crinkle effect. (Very pretty) Thx.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
This is the exact same recipe my mom used when I was growing up, and I still use it today. It's quick and simple, and the cookies are chewy and tasty. I've never had a problem with them hardening up, but then I always undercook my cookies a bit to make them a little chewy. This recipe is great with strawberry cake mix too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Samantha Smith
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I did not like this recipie with yellow cake. It just tasted like really sweet cake. I made them again using the 50% less sugar chocolate cake mix and they were amazing. They were big and chewy and not too sweet. I would recomend them, but not with the yellow mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
I have been making these for as long as I can remember. I have used many variations, Devils Food with Andy's Mint baking pieces or peanut butter/chocolate swirl chips are two family favorites. I always use 2-3 Tablespoons of water depending on the mix brand. I find some need more water than others to get the consistancy right. Other family favorites include Lemon or French Vanilla with chocolate chips. The only mix I would avoid is carrot due to the fact that the carrots do not completely reconstitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
This was a really great recipe. Iused a lemon cake mix with white chocolate chips (1.5 cups). I also dipped the bottom of the cookies into graham cracker crumbs to give a nice juxtaposition between the soft center and the crispy bottom and also made them stick less to the pan. I added, as others had suggested, 1.5 Tbs of water to make them chewyer. Overall, this recipe yielded great results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
These cookies were very good. My son and I used a marble cake mix and made half and half cookies (half yellow/half chocolate). I used a tsp of vanilla and 2 tbsps of water in the yellow batter as others have suggested. We put chocolate chips in both the yellow and chocolate batter. We dropped the yellow batter onto the cookie sheet first. Then we dropped slightly less than an equal amount of chocolate batter on top. The cookies needed about 10 minutes in my oven (which runs a little hot) and looked beautiful, with the yellow and chocolate cooking into a nice swirl patterned cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emi
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2009
these are FANTASTIC!! i substituted applesauce for the oil, and used 1 egg and 1 egg white (ran out of whole eggs). Added 2Tbs water as suggested. I made these with lemon cake mix, a few squirts of lemon juice, a handful of shredded coconut and a handful of white choco chips. These are so quick and easy- 1 bowl, 10 minutes... what more can you want?! I dropped these by the Tbs and got about 30 cookies. Can't wait to try this with other cake varieties... YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Mercerville, New Jersey, USA
Photo by CupcakePolly
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
These are probably the best cake mix cookie I've tried. I used a strawberry cake mix and added 1/2 tsp vanilla extract and 1/4 tsp of almond extract. Fantastic! I also kept them covered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakePolly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
I have used a version of this recipe for years. I almost always have cake mix in the cupboard, so this is a great one to use when you need homemade cookies quickly. I have used Devil's food and Lemon cake mixes, but have never mixed anything in. I will have to try that next time. Roll the balls in powdered sugar before you bake for a nice effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HillaryB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orange, California, USA
Living In: Avondale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 162) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States