Cake Mix Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I love this recipe! It is quick, simple, and delicious. I always get compliments when I make them and my family is always asking me to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Not bad for a cookie that begins with a cake mix! I used a chocolate cake mix and added 1/2 tsp. each of vanilla and chocolate extract to help disguise any cake mix flavor. To overcome the dryness some reviewers mentioned, I used 1/2 c. butter and 2 T. oil - and they were wonderfully soft and chewy. Instead of chocolate chips I threw in a bag of chopped Andes mints. It was a match made in heaven. I used a small cookie scoop and did not flatten them, as these do flatten somewhat in the oven. I had these mixed up and in the oven in just a few minutes and clean-up was a breeze. It's nice to know I can always rely on these when I need cookies in a hurry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Made these tonight without the chips as I didn't have any on hand but, I love these cookies! I was srtuck with an inspiratioin. I used a supermoist butter recipe chocolate cake mix. Used a 1 tablespoon measuring spoon to scoop out a well rounded spoonfull of dough. Used a flat bottomed 3inch round glass dipped in sugar and pressed the balls of dough flat, almost to edge of glass. Now the first dip, you will have to smear a little bit of margarine on bottom of glass before dipping it in the sugar. After that just press the glass firmly into the sugar, then onto the cookie dough. They come out a little firmer and very uniform. You must remove the cookies from the pan almost imediately when done. Cool on wire rack. I then used my favorite whipped buttercream frosting to make filled cookies. I used a healthy 1 and 1/2 tablespoon of frosting between two cookies. They put me in mind of those infamous whoopie pies. Yum! Thanks for the recipe Nicole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
These are good and super simple!! Great for kids to make. I made them with my girls, but substituted applesauce for the oil and used an egg replacement since my son is allergic (1 T. vinegar, 1 T. milk and 1 t. baking powder for each egg - I just used one substitution) These are good right out of the oven - but do not store well - became chewy and super moist on top - probably from all my substitutions!! However, cookies don't usually last more than a day at my house anyway!! Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rocky Mount, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
So easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
We make these several times a week! Last night we mixed marshmellows and graham crackers in Devil's Food cake for Smores cookies! Yummy! Never have a problem with them getting hard but I make them bigger and take them out while they are still gooey in the middle! I highly recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
These were soooo easy and soooo good! I love how you can mix up the flavors. I had devil's food fudge mix on hand and mixed 1/2 of the batter with reeses peanut butter chips and 1/2 the batter with dark chocolate chips/toffee chips. The peanut butter one was by far my favorite. Can't wait to play around with other mixes! I added another egg also because I couldn't seem to get all the cake mix moist with just the two. Really really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
These aren't bad if you need something quick, but you do have to add something to them. I tried several varieties & only one got a passing grade with my family. I tried the following add ins: chocolate chip mint chocolate flavored oatmeal, raisins & nuts (these ended up almost like a sweetbread & were by far the best flavored)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kansas Kountry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
It doesnt get any easier than this unless you are buying pre-packaged! I used a box of devil's food cake mix and rolled the dough into balls and coated them in powdered sugar for a crinkly effect like another reveiwer suggested and they were perfect! I also added 2 Tbls. water like suggested. They were done in exactly 8 minutes! I can't wait to try more variations! Perfect cookies for giving away during the Christmas season due to the low cost and ease! Next, I'm trying the chocolate cake mix with Andes peppermint crunch baking chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gen 49:20

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States