Cake Mix Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I left out the chips, made 2 batches using spice cake mix for one and red velvet cake mix for the other since it was Christmas. Then I whipped up some cream cheese filling/frosting (2 cakes of cream cheese, 3 cups of confectioners sugar and 2 tsp of homemade rum vanilla) and piped the filling on one cookie and added another cookie on top. I made both batches and they were ready to walk out the door with me that afternoon for a party. The cookies were beautiful, very decadent and lasted much longer without drying out with the cream cheese to keep them moist. Next time I use the spice cake I will add 2 tsp of ginger to get that very Christmasy flavor. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maliforte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
These are awesome! There are so many combinations for this! I tried yellow and chocolate cake mixes. The yellow cake was softer and puffy where the chocolate was somewhat flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
it was pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samsam

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA
Living In: Stevenson, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
These turned out super yummy and addicting! I didn't have any vegetable oil so I substituted applesauce, which I would do again. I also used 1 cup of milk chocolate chips and 1 cup of white chocolate chips only because I only had half a bag left of each to use. Worked out perfectly and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GSWOODY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Pittsboro, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
So easy and moist! Add 1 tbsp peanut butter and only 1 cup choc chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Yes, VERY easy! Though I've always used spice cake mix and rolled them in sugar. My recipe say confectioners, but I used raw for a crunchy outside texture :-))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
SO EASY and YUMMY! Use different kinds of cake mixes and mix-ins for variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ritah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Wellington, Colorado, USA
Photo by awilson
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I made these with a lemon cake mix (pudding in the mix type), the oil, and eggs. I had a lemon so I also squeezed a little fresh lemon juice into the batter. I rolled in balls and flattened slightly and sprinkled with sugar before baking. After they cooled, I glazed them with a glaze of 1 cup powdered sugar and 2-3 T lemon juice. (Could probably cut the glaze in half.) They are delicious! I am storing them in the freezer and and they are a great consistency pulled right out of the bag--slightly chewy and just enough tartness! Quick and easy variation of the recipe if you like lemon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Once I got over the idea that these are not supposed to taste like chocolate chip cookies, I found that I liked them pretty well. My husband LOVED them. My main concern is that there's a bit of a fake taste in them. Fortunately, tons of chocolate chips helped cover it up. : ) I did add a little bit of water before adding the chocolate chips because it was too pasty. I think I'd make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
I find keeping in freezer works best for me and I hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cake Mix Cookies VIII

Make delicious cookies the easy way--by starting with a box cake mix.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States