Cake Mix Cinnamon Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
These cinnamon rolls came out perfectly!!! Very light and fluffy. I made this recipe almost as written. The only changes involved the type of yeast, and the amount of flour. I only had rapid rise yeast. I added the yeast directly into the cake mix and flour, (skipping the step with dissovling the yeast in warm water). Then I added the warm water (120*F - 130*F for the rapid rise yeast)right into the cake/flour/yeast mix. Don't worry if you too have to add more than the 4 1/2c of flour this recipe calls for. It is a very wet dough and there is no way to knead it unless you add more flour. (About 1 cup more, which I added while kneading. This way you only add as much as necessary to make the dough workable.) Which means, you will probably have more dough than will fill a 9x13" pan. I actually filled the 9x13" and an 8x8" pan. Will definitely make this recipe again. May change the type of cake mix...maybe a spice cake? Maybe add more cinnamon and brown sugar, or more of a glaze over the top once baked? Will be fun to experiment!********Just made this recipe again. This time, I used a spice cake mix and added the zest of one orange to the dough mixture. The orange tastes wonderful with the spice cake mix. This time I tried to stuff all the slices into a 10x13" baking dish. DO NOT stuff all the rolls into one pan. I recommend separating them into two pans. They will bake more evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Emmaus, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I ended up using much more than 4.5 cups of flour - maybe closer to 5.5 cups. That means I had a LOT of dough. Maybe I'll use less water next time. I didn't give it much time to rise, but they still were fairly light. I liked the flavor, but hubby and I think they need more cinnamon sugar. Maybe we just ate the end pieces and thus didn't get much. ;) I will make again, maybe with a couple modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
I followed the recipe to the letter only to produce an overflowing pan of rolls with the tops cooked to perfection and the bottom a gooey mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
Though I've not made this recipe, it sounds very similar to one I make every couple of months. I'd like to share some hints that make my job easier. After mixing main ingredients, before handling dough I put on vinyl 'examining' gloves (which I buy from a drug store). After dough rises the first time, I separate dough into three to four balls and place each in a different slightly greased bowl. Working with smaller portions makes it easier. Rolling out the dough thinner, I make up to 100 rolls (which I later freeze). Spreading soft butter on top of dough, I've found, is best done using a rubber spatula. Also, sprinkling cinnamon/sugar mix on top of butter is easily done when putting mix in a flour sifter. Enjoy~~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The King's kid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I'll be honest I really just wanted this recipe for the dough because my grandma told me how to make her cinnamon buns (which were the best in the world). sadly though she never gave me the dough recipe before she died and ever since i've been trying to replicate it. The best compliment i can give you is when I ate these buns I felt like i was getting a hug from my grandma. I used a spice cake mix instead of vanilla and they turned out sweet and soft and delicious and they were so easy to make. Thank you for giving me that moment. I can't wait to make them for my grandpa. If you want to try them grams way spread the butter on and add the brown sugar and cinnamon generously. roll them up and cut like normal. Place them in a 9x13 baking dish and top each bun with a little more cinnamon and brown sugar then pour enough corn syrup just to cover the tops of each bun.bake according to this recipe. This makes a delicious sticky bun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
I halved this recipe since it's just my hubby and I, the recipe sounded like it would yield too many rolls. I used 3/4 of a yellow cake mix, and used the same amount of flour as the recipe (halved) calls for (2 1/4 cups). Yes, it was sticky, yes it looked like a hot mess - but I decided to use the exact amount of flour IN the dough that way I could HEAVILY flour my parchment lined board and the dough to roll it. This batter-like dough rolls out GREAT using this method, while also avoiding diluting the taste of the final product. & the parchment paper makes it SO easy to roll it (just like you would a jelly roll!!) Came out mmm-mmmm fab-u-lous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy T

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palm Desert, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
RAVE REVIEWS! Made these the day befor a big family camping trip, and they looked and tasted AMAZING! Made them with a french vanilla cake mix, and I used CREAM CHEESE FROSTING II from this site- PERFECT! THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR A WONDERFUL RECIPE! ********************************** NOT ENOUGH STARS! I crave these all the time, wish I could make them more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HawaiIrish

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calimesa, California, USA
Living In: Beaumont, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I thought these were pretty good though my husband found them a little too cakey. I had a difficult time rolling them up (as the 10X16 inch rectangle was pretty thick). I made a glaze with powdered sugar to drizzle over the rolls. I'll probably try a different cinnamon roll recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BAKINGMOM74
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
These were absolutely amazing and deserve 100 stars!!! Everyone loved these and they couldn't have been easier to make. I've topped them with a praline glaze as well as cream cheese icing and they're always delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BAKINGMOM74

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lugoff, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
These were Great!! I used white sugar, Doubled the sugar and cinnamon.And I used a cream cheese frosting.I also had to use more flour than what this recipe called for,So don't be surprized, if you choose to make this....Everybody in my house loved them from the first bite.I think they were just as good as a place in Pismo California!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States