Cake Mix Cinnamon Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by jadedgurl
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This was a good recipe but a couple of things to note. Make sure you grease the pan with butter not baking spray or oil for additional flavor. Also I cut the dough into strips first with a pizza cutter and then rolled each one individually after coating with the butter and cinnamon sugar mixture(that way they don't flatten out). I used 3 paks of yeast but I think 2 would have been plenty. As far as the recipe itself I used yellow cake mix(16.25) because that was all I had and for the frosting I used the recipe from(clone of a cinnabon) We will make them again as they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jadedgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 2, 2012
Ok my kids and hubby have now tried every flavor cakemix out there in these rolls and they love them all. throw them togather before bed get them in the pan cover then with cling wrap and get them in the oven in the morning so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I have been making cinnamon rolls for years and always come back to this recipe. If you love fluffy, moist cinnamon rolls that are easy to make, this is the recipe! I do often use the filling and cream cheese frosting from clone of cinnabon recipe on this site with this recipe for the most sinful but yummy rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
I used spice cake mix for these and bread flour. My Kitchen Aid Mixer did all the work. I combined the yeast, water, cake mix and flour in the mixer and then switched to the dough hook and allowed the dough to knead for 8 minutes - easy! I added about 1/2 cup of flour on my pastry cloth. Dough is very workable. Recipe said 16 servings so I sliced the rolled up dough into 16 slices. This resulted in 16 HUGE cinnamon rolls which measured approximately 3" x 4" x 2 1/2" . Next time, I will divide the dough and then roll. I baked for 27 minutes and drizzled with confectioner's sugar glaze. Recipe ingredients does not list pecans or the amount required, however, the instructions mentions pecans. I did not add pecans. These seemed to be better after they had cooled for about 15 minutes. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Very light and fluffy! I added a beaten egg and about a tbsp of melted butter to the wet ingredients just before I added the dry ingredients! They turned out amazing! Will make them again and again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by balmer
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Made as directed...delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by balmer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
Had to quadruple this recipe for work, but I used yellow cake mix instead. I also took some liberties with the butter/brown sugar/cinnamon filling (just eyed it up and was very generous). And as well, I got creative with the glaze (that part is going to remain a secret). By far, these turned out to be just as good, if not better, than anything I could've purchased at a chain store or local bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Made these rolls this week , used NN white cake mix, and only about half the butter in total and they were very good! Wonder how chocolate mix would be and substitute cocoa instead of Cinnamon? Anyone tried it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Birdi
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Delicious! I used about twice the brown sugar and three times the cinnanon. Hubby liked them as is, but I though they needed a glaze so I added a powdered sugar/butter glaze. Perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIO1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA
Living In: Early, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
As long as you don't have too high of expectation that the "texture" of these rolls will be as good as the classic version, they're okay. Personally, I was disappointed in the texture. My husband (who's the sweet tooth in the family) liked them better than I did. I was raised on old fashioned, hard labored baked goods. Consequently, I'm pickier than most. For additional flavor, I added vanilla & almond extract, cardamom and orange and lemon zest. I definitely agree that this base recipe could make interesting results with different cake mixes. But as far as trying to pull these off as "classic" cinnamon rolls, it doesn't quite work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States