Cake Mix Cinnamon Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Good flavor but way too big. I had to use 2 pans because it made 2 dozen huge rolls. Also had to double the brown sugar and cinnamon in the filling since there was so much dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Haddon Township, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
These came out fantastic! I almost followed the recipe verbatem except I used yellow cake mix and a couple dashes of pumpkin spice. I also used only 1 stick of butter for the entire thing (about 1/2 cup total) I also didnt dip them in the butter mixture, but used a small brush to brush a good amount of butter over the tops. I cut the ends off, and cooked those immediatley, then stored the rest in the fridge overnight. The overnight batch puffed up wonderfully, and once cooked, expanded into beautiful full sized cinnamon rolls! My husband doesnt like frosting too much, so after baking was complete I brushed 1/3 cup of real honey (hot) mixed with a teaspoon of butter. the glaze made them irresistable, we had to give some away before we ate them all! As it was, I had 4 today, and I know he took some to work with him. Thanks for the awesome recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
These came out great, but there is a lot of dough! I don't know how 16 rolls could fit into a 9x13" pan. I had to use 2 pans. Other than that. I got rave reviews from friends. I iced them with a cream cheese frosting and served them warm. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
All this work for a what essentially comes out a coffee cake. There are much easier recipes for that purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBAMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Urbana, Ohio, USA
Living In: Kettering, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
These were a huge hit with family and friends! I made a white vanilla glaze for topping as I did not have any nuts in the house. I couldn't believe how big they were. Can't wait to try them again maybe using a spice cake mix. *UPDATE* Made these again but had extra cream cheese frosting in the fridge, spread it on while they were still hot and it melted into a wonderful gooey glaze. These just keep getting better and better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
A little messy, but worth it! Very good, will make again! Used the rapid rise yeast - mixed it in w/ the flour & cake mix, then added the water and only let it rise once, worked great! I used closer to 5 1/2 cups of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlysoxfan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plantation, Florida, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
YUM! These are really good and very easy to make. I used a butter pecan cake mix and 5 cups of flour. They turned out very light. The dough was very easy to work with. Thanks for the delicious recipe. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
After reading reviews, I thought,"now, this is one thing with yeast that I can't mess up" - I was wrong. I let it bubble & get creamy (so it was not old), I added as indicated - the dough doubled in size the first time, then I think maybe I made the mistake of trying to let it rise a second time - it did, but then when I rolled it out, added the sugar, etc. then formed the rolls, it didn't rise again - that was it.... I baked anyways hoping that after ALL THAT TIME AND EFFORT AND EXPENSE that they would rise while baking... nope. Hard as bricks. Ugh... maybe the secret is ONLY LET THEM RISE ONCE, THEN ROLL INTO BUNS... because trying to let it rise twice sure didn't work. I thought maybe they would be more fluffy and airy if I let them rise twice. Live & learn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
These cinnamon rolls came out perfectly!!! Very light and fluffy. I made this recipe almost as written. The only changes involved the type of yeast, and the amount of flour. I only had rapid rise yeast. I added the yeast directly into the cake mix and flour, (skipping the step with dissovling the yeast in warm water). Then I added the warm water (120*F - 130*F for the rapid rise yeast)right into the cake/flour/yeast mix. Don't worry if you too have to add more than the 4 1/2c of flour this recipe calls for. It is a very wet dough and there is no way to knead it unless you add more flour. (About 1 cup more, which I added while kneading. This way you only add as much as necessary to make the dough workable.) Which means, you will probably have more dough than will fill a 9x13" pan. I actually filled the 9x13" and an 8x8" pan. Will definitely make this recipe again. May change the type of cake mix...maybe a spice cake? Maybe add more cinnamon and brown sugar, or more of a glaze over the top once baked? Will be fun to experiment!********Just made this recipe again. This time, I used a spice cake mix and added the zest of one orange to the dough mixture. The orange tastes wonderful with the spice cake mix. This time I tried to stuff all the slices into a 10x13" baking dish. DO NOT stuff all the rolls into one pan. I recommend separating them into two pans. They will bake more evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Emmaus, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I ended up using much more than 4.5 cups of flour - maybe closer to 5.5 cups. That means I had a LOT of dough. Maybe I'll use less water next time. I didn't give it much time to rise, but they still were fairly light. I liked the flavor, but hubby and I think they need more cinnamon sugar. Maybe we just ate the end pieces and thus didn't get much. ;) I will make again, maybe with a couple modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make simple cinnamon rolls using your bread machine.

Ninety-Minute Cinnamon Rolls

See how to make quick-and-easy homemade cinnamon rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls II

Watch how to make these top-rated cinnamon rolls.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States