Cake Fondant Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Help! I make a baby shower cake and used fondant. when they went to cut it the cake crumbled under the fondant. The fondant holds the moisture in and made it impossible to cut the cake. Can anyone offer any suggestions????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
What you should do if is dry just add a couple drops of water and knead until just right. If it is to sticky just add a little more sugar until just right. If you want it to have flavor you can get clear vanilla extract or clear fruit extract flavoring at a store just add a couple drops. careful you will need to add more sugar to it if you do . when ready to store cover in a layer of Crisco( just rub all over fondant) and wrap tightly in plastic wrap and your ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
I wanted quick and easy fondant and I guess this is what I get. It wasn't very good and I think I'll do the hard kind of fondant next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rockstartailor

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
it falls apart to easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Very good alternative to the typical marshmallow fondant I make. Easy to work with and not too sweet tasting!!! Will only use this recipe to cover the cake........Marshmallow fondant still my go to for bows, ribbons and forming flowers.........only because I don't think this recipe would hold its shape or dry as well due to the butter and milk...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
WAY to sweet. when I tried rolling it out, it was fall apart. Not the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
I loved it but for me it was pretty sticky :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I tried this out for the first time trying to decorate a cake and the 6 cups of confectioners sugar is a little off i had to add 7 1/2 cups and im having to go to the store for more sugar so watch out on that other than that its good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
The fondant was very dry. It was so dry that I was unable to roll is smooth and move it. The whole point to fondant is for a smooth look. So even though it tasted good, I am giving it a low rating. This was my first attempt at fondant. So maybe I was part of the problem. Next time, I will try a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
This is a fantastic fondant. It has a great flavor! Thanks for the recipe :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Decorate a Cake with Fondant

Make any cake fancy and sleek using fondant.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States