Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I thought they were wonderfull for my first time trying. I had a difficult time moldong the dough however, I had to resort to the donut holes. I was halfway through the dough process when I realized I was out of vanilla so I used almond or some sort instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyGoddess

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Delicious! Totally filled my craving for a good cake doughnut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Needed to add more flour because the dough was just too soft and the flavor was actually better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
they were ok...followed recipe to the T, was to salty for my taste...kind of overpowered the taste and the dough was to sticky, terrible texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
fantastic!! the dough was easy to make and can be made overnight. I noticed that others complained the dough was to sticky .. this is true, the trick though is to flower surface well and pat your hands with flower ( lightly coating the dough). this makes the dough manageable and causes a lot less stress! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
THE DOUGH WAS STICKY AND UNMANAGEABLE. THERE WAS NO WAY TO GET A SHAPE OUT OF IT. IT WAS A DISASTER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
Although these doughnuts tasted delicious, the dough was so sticky that it was a complete mess while making them. I think the flour ratio is wrong in this recipe.The second time I made them I used 3 and a half cups of flour and the doughnuts turned out much better and the dough was easy to handle. My friends loved them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I did not care for this recipe. No offense to the person who put this on here, but a word of advise for any one else that tries this, its perfect for funnel cake, but not for doughnuts, its toooooo sticky to roll and there doesnt seem to be anything you can do about it either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kimberly Kays
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
A bit sticky. I added about 1/2 cup more flour when mixing and then kneaded in about 1/4 cup more when it was chilled. Other than that, great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Kays

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livingston, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
They tasted good but it took me a while to figure out the size of each piece and temp of the oil. I have never cooked anything like this before and it was definitely not as easy as I thought it would be. Overall it tasted good but there was some "user error."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States