Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe. I am only fifteen and I have been able to make this recipe about 5 times in the past two months. I would have given it five stars but the first time I made it the dough was sticky. So when making this add a about another cup and a half of flour. It turns out great and everyone enjoys them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Let me start by saying these doughnuts do taste great. I passed out the doughnut holes to the neighbor kids only to find out that all the parents ate them them "shared" some w/the kids. I had to take more over and everyone talked about them for the rest of the day. I did have trouble w/the dough. I didn't read the other reviews 1st. It was so sticky that I couldn't even work with it. I added much more flour until it was manageable. I think that it may have turned out better if the dough was left in overnight. I would suggest that if you're just making doughnuts for the kids to just use the pillsbury buttermilk biscuits and fry them. It's much easier and the kids LOVE them. They will certainly choose them over the homemade ones here. I will make these for the adults though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Ferq

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozark, Alabama, USA
Living In: Newbury Park, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I think there was too much liquid for the amount of dry ingredients listed. However, after kneading in enough flour to roll the dough out, they were easy enough to cut and fry. After the doughnuts drained and cooled a bit, I shook them in a bag of cinnamon and sugar. I haven't tried one yet, but after making them yesterday, my family has put a huge dent in the eighteen doughnuts the recipe yielded. They tell me the doughnuts are better than any cake doughnuts they've had from a store or bakery. For my first time making homemade doughnuts, these turned out better than I expected!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vanessa
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
really easy recipe! me and my husband had alot of fun making these! We shook them in a bag of icing sugar while they're still hot and coated them and the icing sugar melted to the doughnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I tried a very small batch of these just to see what they're like. I didn't care for them, because they're not 'cake' donuts. Real cake donuts aren't rolled out. These are more like dense sweet bread in the shape of a donut. I realize most recipes for cake donuts on the web seem to be for rolled-out donuts, but donut cutters in the bakery are actually for the fried yeast donuts, not cake donuts. In the bakery, cake donuts are made with a batter and are dropped onto oil with a dispenser. The dispensers aren't very expensive. And you can find dispensers on the web that come with a traditional cake donut recipe such as that used in bakeries. It's even possible to use boxed cake mixes by altering the amount of wet ingredients added to the batter to make other flavors of cake donuts. But I would not call the donuts in this recipe here 'cake' donuts, because it's not made from a batter, but rather a dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
These donuts were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
The doughnuts taste really good and the recipe is simple to make. I want to thank those of you who complained about the stickiness of the dough, you made my life easier. One cup of milk is really too much for this recipe; I used 2/3 cup of milk and the dough turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. G

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Tried these today, as I have had a bad graving for a good cake doughnut. Well it past the test. Yes the dough was very sticky. However, coming from a line of chefs & bakers, knew I needed to add more flour (a little at a time) to be able to handle the dough satisfactory. My husband enjoyed them very much and they will be repeated when the urge hits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I was impressed with the simplicity of preparation and exceptional results. The flavor is quite good and even my wife, who can not handle a lot of sweets brags about these doughnuts to others all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dr. John

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Puente, California, USA
Living In: Okmulgee, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
These are very good doughnuts made as is. They are not too sweet, which allows you to enjoy the glaze on them. Watch the oil so it doesn't get too hot, cook only until golden. Thanks for a new doughnut favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States