Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I followed the recipe 100% and I found the batter to be to sticky When I put the dough on a floured surface it just spread! I tried cutting them with a donut cutter and when I tried picking out the donut to put into the oil it reminded me of childs toy called Green Slime! So I had to add about 1 cup of extra flour so I could at least roll it out and cut it. I should have just scooped it and put it into the oil that way. I might try it one more time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This is a fantastic basic cake doughnut recipe. Instead of using melted butter I used a room temp butter. I also used my mixer w/ a dough hook to mix. I did find the dough a little sticky so I added 1/4 cup of flour which made it perfect. Will be holding on to this recipe. I also used someone elses suggestion for 1 1/2 minutes per side while cooking... they came out perfectly cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CakeGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Yay.....an easy peasy recipe for doughnuts! These are just as yummy as raised doughnuts without the fussiness of yeast. My entire family and I enjoyed them on a snowy day together. Great with chocolate glaze, too! A definite 5 star recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
These doughnuts came out perfect! The dough was a little sticky, but I just added more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Absolutely divine. Reminds me of the donuts my mom used to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I accidentally let the batter sit in the fridge for over two days, having intended to make them one morning and forgetting to do so once or twice. The dough was still very sticky and glossy, hard to work with but not impossible. I used an ice-cream scoop to dish out equal portions and then split those into small balls to make donut holes. (because they grew considerably as they fried.) the batter did stick to the bowl and to the plates I put the dough portions on. I didn't mind and I worked quickly with the batter, re-shaping the balls as I dropped them into the pan. I guess I'm just more patient than others with messy doughs. I fried them in the middle of the night using lard instead of regular cooking/frying oil because i wanted a more delicate texture and i find regular oils tend to make homemade donuts tough. I tossed them while they were still hot (thinking they were cooler than they were) in powdered sugar and cinnamon, which gave them a thick sort of glaze. I tried one while it was still considerably warm and I didn't like the taste at all, I found it too eggy and spice-heavy--but I let them sit out under a sheet of wax paper overnight. This morning they were absolutely wonderful. They were flaky and tender and they tasted just like (if not better than) most grocery or commercial donuts. I'll be using this recipe as my go-to cake donut recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I just made these for my children, used 1 cup finely milled soft wheat flour in place of 1 cup white flour, substituted margarine for butter & soy milk for milk (dairy allergy) AND baked these in my donut pans. They were AWESOME! Light, fluffy, and delicate. I baked them for 8 minutes at 400 degrees in regular sized donut pan & 6 minutes at 400 degrees in mini donut pan. Very tasty! Now I'm going to make up chocolate donuts replacing 1/2 cup flour for 1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder and minus the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This recipe was great, the first time I made it I put in the nutmeg, the second time I left it out. I enjoyed it more with the nutmeg left out just because it tasted more like the fair doughnuts. It does take some getting used to if you have never made doughnuts before, but practice makes perfect!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I believe I read all 122 reviews before trying this recipe. I decided to just cut back the milk by 1/4 cup, due to several warnings about dough being too sticky. They came out FABULOUS! Made as directed except for decreasing the milk, refrigerated overnight, used plenty of flour to pat out the dough with my hands (rolling pin totally unnecessary), cut and fried as directed. OMG heavenly! My husband flipped over these! No problem with stickiness at all. We had eaten half a dozen before I could get cinnamon sugar on them. Stored in Tupperware, they were still plenty good the next day. Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DebinNM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canastota, New York, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
I either did something wrong, or its the recipe. Mine came out more doughy then cakey. Plus as others mentioned it was very hard to work with. Had to keep adding flour to work with it. By the time I got the process down and got them all made, I was not impressed with the taste or consistency. I gave it 3 for the ok taste, and easiness of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coconutheather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 161) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States