Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
This recipe is awesome! I forgot to refrigerate the batter but they turned out all the same a bit sticky initially but firmed up well when cooked. Thank you so much for sharing:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie
Home Town: Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I wanted something that didn't require yeast and was an alternative to the "biscuit" donuts we've been making. I wanted to like this because honestly it smelled delicious and the idea of a cake doughnut is yummy, but even letting the dough sit overnight it was still unworkable. I put a heap of flour onto my work area, it absorbed it and still stuck. I couldn't even pick it up. If someone can find a way to make these with the right consistency I'm sure they'd be delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MtGracie
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
This recipe is definitely a keeper! Reading the ingredients, I decided there would be enough flavor to skip the cinnamon/sugar coating, and I was right. Going off the advice of other commenters that it needed more time to chill, I made the dough the night before. I still need to work with my oil temperature, but that's my issue, not the recipe. I highly recommend this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
THE TASTE WAS GOOD... BUT MY DOUGH CAME OUT VERY STICKY. WAS THERE ANYTHING THAT I DIDN'T DO?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
awesome and easy. no waiting for donuts to rise. tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
The dough is WAY too sticky to actually make any type of shape other than drop doughnuts. I'm amazed that this recipe has gotten such good reviews. Will not make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
These are good! They are just like I like them: crunchy on the outside and fluffy on the inside. I made holes without refrigerating the dough first becuase I was in a hurry. The dough was tacky but I was able to scoop out about a tablespoon and roll it in my hands to make a ball. I dropped it in the oil and fried for about 2-4 minutes. I didn't have vanilla extract or nutmed and they were still flavorful. I can't wair to try it with those ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakley, California, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
These were very tasty but the dough was impossible to roll. I made them into drop donuts instead. next time I will try chilling the dough a little longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
These are very yummy..I rolled out mini dough balls..I did let them sit a few minutes before adding topping.. I sprinkled a few with confectioners sugar but enjoyed cinnamon and sugar better.. But i give 5 star plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yolanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
These were delicious. Yes, the dough is very sticky but it fries up nice. I just dropped spoonfuls into the oil and made doughnut holes. I substituted wheat flour for the white and unsweetened applesauce for the butter and they still turned out great. My kids loved them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States