Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Very quick, easy & yummy doughnut! I added nutmeg to the cinnamon sugar mixture at the end...the nutmeg added a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This hit the spot with my doughnut cravings. I used all wheat flour. I added vanilla, nutmeg, and cinnamon.I fried mine in a small pot on my stove with no problem. I flatted the dough in my hand until it was 1 inch. We could't wait for icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
these were not what i thought they would be i was thinking of a cake doughnut very thick and dense these were not that at all they we ok but i dont think ill use this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
To be fair, I am not an Iron Chef, but after following these instructions precisely, I ended up with a mush that was impossible to mold into any shape that remotely resembled a doughnut, I ended up with dough balls that were extreamly dense. I called them Iranian Christmas balls and fed them to my family; most of them have recovered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
These are AWESOME! I made these this morning for my family and I'm taking leftovers to work. The flavoring of the doughnut is perfect with nutmeg and cinnamon! I rolled them in cinnamon and sugar after cooling and they were delicious. Perfect for a fall morning. Don't forget to flour the surface and also sprinkle the top of the sticky dough ball with flour before rolling it. Yes, the dough is sticky but that's what makes them so dense and moist. We'll definitely make these again.... often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOMEEZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valley Center, California, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Tried another recipe and It was missing something!! This is the something!! Great doughnuts!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEE61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I wouldn't recommend this recipe. I was so hopeful in turning out a wonderful doughnut but it lacked flavor above all. The dough was entirely too sticky. I had it sitting in the fridge over night and after taking it out the texture was no different than when it went in, ridiculously sticky. I had to have added about a half a cup more flour in an attempt to roll them out and they were still sticky. Besides that, I just thought that these doughtnuts lacked flavor. My husband and daughter were so disappointed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
GOOD TASTE MY DAUGHTER LIKED THEM WITH ICING ON THEM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Wall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
Ev1 Loved these- great recipe- thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
Very good. I dropped teaspoon fulls of the dough instead of shaping it like a doughnut because it makes it a lot easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kyoto, Kyoto, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 165) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States