Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I've never made doughnuts before and these were great! Like the others, it did require a bit more flour than required in the recipe, but once I got into the doughnut groove, they turned out beautiful. Will definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Palm Desert, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
I dont know what I could have done wrong but these did not set well at all. I would have to add another cup of flour or more to even be able to attempt to roll them out. We tried to make donut holes instead, but it was still a mess. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ACRISS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
Very quick, easy & yummy doughnut! I added nutmeg to the cinnamon sugar mixture at the end...the nutmeg added a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This hit the spot with my doughnut cravings. I used all wheat flour. I added vanilla, nutmeg, and cinnamon.I fried mine in a small pot on my stove with no problem. I flatted the dough in my hand until it was 1 inch. We could't wait for icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
these were not what i thought they would be i was thinking of a cake doughnut very thick and dense these were not that at all they we ok but i dont think ill use this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
To be fair, I am not an Iron Chef, but after following these instructions precisely, I ended up with a mush that was impossible to mold into any shape that remotely resembled a doughnut, I ended up with dough balls that were extreamly dense. I called them Iranian Christmas balls and fed them to my family; most of them have recovered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
These are AWESOME! I made these this morning for my family and I'm taking leftovers to work. The flavoring of the doughnut is perfect with nutmeg and cinnamon! I rolled them in cinnamon and sugar after cooling and they were delicious. Perfect for a fall morning. Don't forget to flour the surface and also sprinkle the top of the sticky dough ball with flour before rolling it. Yes, the dough is sticky but that's what makes them so dense and moist. We'll definitely make these again.... often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOMEEZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Valley Center, California, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Tried another recipe and It was missing something!! This is the something!! Great doughnuts!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEE61

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I wouldn't recommend this recipe. I was so hopeful in turning out a wonderful doughnut but it lacked flavor above all. The dough was entirely too sticky. I had it sitting in the fridge over night and after taking it out the texture was no different than when it went in, ridiculously sticky. I had to have added about a half a cup more flour in an attempt to roll them out and they were still sticky. Besides that, I just thought that these doughtnuts lacked flavor. My husband and daughter were so disappointed!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verena

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
GOOD TASTE MY DAUGHTER LIKED THEM WITH ICING ON THEM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Wall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Leander, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States