Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Another Upstate New Yorker thinks these are about as close as you'll come to the real deal found at the cider presses in the fall...brought back memories of riding to the country to buy cider and fresh donuts. We called these Fried Cakes. These should not be pale in color but nice and toasty brown!! Nice and crunchy on the outside and soft inside. Great with Cinnamon-sugar! Dunk them in cocoa or coffee too-YUM! Eveyone loved them!! Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
I made these with my 9-year old daughter and her friend. They were easy and very tasty. I will definitely make them again. We followed the recipe exactly and had no trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Excellent and simple recipe! No problems with too little flour. I use ample flour when rolling out the dough. These doughnuts crisp up perfectly on the outside and have a wonderful "melt in your mouth" cake texture inside. My husband and kids love this recipe! Have made it twice so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
I followed the reciepe to the T..cutting them out was a mess even on a slightly floured surface..when I would get one good one and fried it in the hot oil the outside got beyond golden brown before the insides leaving them a little doughy inside nor could I taste any of the flavors ....store bought tastes better than these....I have been making pretty much everything from scratch cakes, frostings etc in order to cut down our food bill still in dire need of finding a good doughnut reciepe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Lenox, Illinois, USA
Living In: Petersburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I used a liberal amount of flour when rolling them out and they came out picture perfect, golden and crispy outside, moist and tender inside. We sold a gazillion at our bake sale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by christinasbakery

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Auburn, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
My kids loved these. I tried cooking them two different ways. First I dropped small teaspoon sized amounts of batter into the deep fryer. They didn't look that great but my son said "They taste better than they look!" Then I tried them rolled out and they turned out great. The key to these turning out is putting lots of flour on the counter and lots ontop of the dough when rolling it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bonanza, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I do not understand the negative aspects of some of these reviews. This recipe is fabulous! Yes, a bit sticky to work with, but well worth the effort. Husband loved them as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ashland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Spring Hill, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2008
This recipe had a very great flavor; however, the dough was too sticky. I added (about 1 c.more flour) till it was not so sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Very good! I didn't use the nutmeg and they still had wonderful flavor! You do need quite a bit more flour when you are rolling out the dough as it will stick to your board/surface. Thank you for sharing this recipe! I had always wanted to try and make a cake doughnut and never knew it could be this easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
Thank you this is an awesome recipe!!!! I would give 10 stars if I could. I had to make 2x the amount so I used half milk and half apple cider!!! So tasty. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOLDENPHOENIX82

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Naples, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States