Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Great recipe I like my donuts frozen. Sounds crazy but its awesome. After sprinkling with granulated sugar and getting to room temp I out in sandwich bags and put in freezer. Try it before doubting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Every time I crave something sweet, I get cooking/baking. With my family, these never last after 2 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Loved these. I made my own glaze though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
These were a hit, kids loved them. I used floured parchment paper to roll them out on, seemed to work really well. I had tried the counter before using the parchment and it created a huge mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
The recipe didn't impress me. The dough was sticky and to me it wasn't worth the time it took to prepare and cook. I think you would've needed to subtract some of the milk from the recipe and maybe a little more refrigeration time. Overall, I wasn't impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Just like Mom used make!! I liked the recipe very much, changed the milk to buttermilk, added 1/2 cup more of flour and left out the cinnamon. Didn't refrigerate dough, just rolled out and cut with doughnut cutter and deep fried. They came out like my Mom used to make. Her recipe was from the Rumford Cook Book, dated 1908. The doughnuts were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
When i made these doughnuts i did not use 1 cup milk i used about 1/4-1/3 cup like some of the reviews suggested. The dough rolled out great; it wasn't too sticky or too dry. The doughnuts also cut out well from the dough once you've floured your cutters. The problem was that they weren't thoroughly cooked after frying. Perhaps the oil was to hot (did not have a thermometer to measure the temperature to 370 degrees) or i should have rolled the dough to a thinner thickness. but overall i'm sure if the oil was at the right temperature and doughnuts at the right thickness that they would have turned out wonderful. (it probably has a little too much cinnamon for my liking)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
So easy and delicious! You absolutely don't need a fry cooker to make these at home. I used 3/4c milk as suggested by others, and forgot the vanilla, and I think these are PERFECT. I grabbed a handful of dough, rolled it out on a floured surface to about the same thickness that I would for sugar cookies. I used a mason jar lid to cut out the donuts, a children's Tylenol measuring cup for the centers (see how fancy I am?) and about 1-1.5" of oil in a small saucepan. The donuts took about 1 min or less per side. Cooked the centers also and they made perfect donut holes. Dusted with powdered sugar. These turned out just like the mini donuts that we love at the local coffee shop. We will make these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lilamonster
Living In: Castle Rock, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by marcus
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I followed this recipe with one substitution - I used buttermilk instead of regular milk. all other quantities of ingredients are correct. This makes a very soft dough BUT it is important to chill it for the minimum, to have the oil hot enough AND to not crowd the fryer... I was generous with the flour when handling the dough - after the dough chilled, I rolled the ball of dough in flour, then hand pressed the dough to the desired thickness, trying to not handle it too much. I then made my shapes by hand just as I was ready to drop them in the oil. I had a helper so the assembly line went smoothly. These cake donuts are what I consider to be cake donuts - light enough and not too dense, but not as light as bread / yeast donuts. And I agree with others, they are good too the next day but beyond that, you'll need a good cup of tea or coffee to go with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marcus

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Very good but doesn't need nutmeg, IMO it makes them taste weird
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Junction City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States