Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Made these yesterday, and also made my usual recipe. They are excellent as my husband said. He prefers this recipe. I added a fair amount of flour to my flouring board ( the dough was a bit soft & sticky). Turned out great! Next time I will reduce the cinnamon slightly. Now the grandkids will be the judges @ Thanksgiving! They love doughnuts. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
As per other reviewers, I reduced the milk, too. Came out very good. Next time I will definitely double the amount, as these go very quick. Just the right taste ! mmmmm good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
i love the doughnuts some thinks the dough was too sticky but, thats how doughnuts are
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by World Of Warcraft Chick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
I made this recipe twice since Sunday. The first time was with my 12 yrs. old niece, she had fun and the donuts tasted great. Didn't take long to get the hang of making the donuts. My teenage sons enjoyed this recipe. Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
This was a good recipe. I put 1/2 cup of milk instead 1 cup. I made fudge Frosting 1 Semi sweet chococlate square, 2 tablespoons butter, 4 tablesoons Karol Syurp,1 teaspoon Vanilla & 3 cups Powder sugar. Melt butter,chococlate square & Karol syurp in a small sauce pan heat on Med after all melted add Powder sugar. Mix untill smooth. enjoy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by frankaff

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I really enjoyed this recipe. I am only fifteen and I have been able to make this recipe about 5 times in the past two months. I would have given it five stars but the first time I made it the dough was sticky. So when making this add a about another cup and a half of flour. It turns out great and everyone enjoys them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Let me start by saying these doughnuts do taste great. I passed out the doughnut holes to the neighbor kids only to find out that all the parents ate them them "shared" some w/the kids. I had to take more over and everyone talked about them for the rest of the day. I did have trouble w/the dough. I didn't read the other reviews 1st. It was so sticky that I couldn't even work with it. I added much more flour until it was manageable. I think that it may have turned out better if the dough was left in overnight. I would suggest that if you're just making doughnuts for the kids to just use the pillsbury buttermilk biscuits and fry them. It's much easier and the kids LOVE them. They will certainly choose them over the homemade ones here. I will make these for the adults though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Ferq

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ozark, Alabama, USA
Living In: Newbury Park, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I think there was too much liquid for the amount of dry ingredients listed. However, after kneading in enough flour to roll the dough out, they were easy enough to cut and fry. After the doughnuts drained and cooled a bit, I shook them in a bag of cinnamon and sugar. I haven't tried one yet, but after making them yesterday, my family has put a huge dent in the eighteen doughnuts the recipe yielded. They tell me the doughnuts are better than any cake doughnuts they've had from a store or bakery. For my first time making homemade doughnuts, these turned out better than I expected!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vanessa
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
really easy recipe! me and my husband had alot of fun making these! We shook them in a bag of icing sugar while they're still hot and coated them and the icing sugar melted to the doughnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I tried a very small batch of these just to see what they're like. I didn't care for them, because they're not 'cake' donuts. Real cake donuts aren't rolled out. These are more like dense sweet bread in the shape of a donut. I realize most recipes for cake donuts on the web seem to be for rolled-out donuts, but donut cutters in the bakery are actually for the fried yeast donuts, not cake donuts. In the bakery, cake donuts are made with a batter and are dropped onto oil with a dispenser. The dispensers aren't very expensive. And you can find dispensers on the web that come with a traditional cake donut recipe such as that used in bakeries. It's even possible to use boxed cake mixes by altering the amount of wet ingredients added to the batter to make other flavors of cake donuts. But I would not call the donuts in this recipe here 'cake' donuts, because it's not made from a batter, but rather a dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States