Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
All I can say is great! Thank you for posting this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This recipe was good! The dough is sticky (frying and baking have very different requirements for doughs), but a heavily floured surface and rolling pin make it manageable. I was expecting the end product to be a bit denser--like Krispy Kreme's cake doughnuts--while these were more airy through the center. I also didn't mind my oil temperature as well as I should have (it got hotter than 370º) and a few of the doughnuts ended up doughy in the center. All in all, it was a good recipe. Quicker to prepare than yeast doughnuts because of the lack of rise-time, and just as doughnut-y for when that fried-pastry craving strikes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
This recipe gets five stars if you add more flour. Without the extra, they are too sticky to roll out. Other than that, the recipe is great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitchenwitch

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Kuttawa, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
No good! I may have made an error somewhere, so I gave it 2 stars instead of 1. I thought I followed everything exactly, but the dough was beyond sticky. It was like mud and super glue mixed together. It really had lost all hope before hitting the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
My kids and I just made these and they turned out great. I didn't refrigerate it (kids couldn't wait) and used the spoon drop drop method as well. Not too sweet at all. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ima13
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I bake on a regular basis, and I decided to do something different. I attempted to make these for my family and they were a big disaster. Not enough flavor on the inside and the sugar topping was overkill, even after allowing the oil to drain away. I will never make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
just made these. they taste great and I was able to make them with stuff on hand! super recipe really. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
My family thoroughly enjoyed this treat. I refrigerated overnight which I think made it easier to roll out/cut out the donuts. Very flavorful, very soft -- and they stayed soft during the week until they were gone. I would highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Great doughnuts! We made 2 double batches .. added a little more cinnamon and nutmeg on the second round, but they are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wejusnot

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Okay, so i have now made this recipe twice. I have made the typical doughnuts too and if that's what you are looking for, this isn't it. However, i loved the the flavor and density of this doughnut! The dough was a really sticky consistency like a lot of people said- but i turned it out straight onto some flour and carefully folded the dough a few times to make it pliable! Little Tip 1. Don't bother using a rolling pin- just use your hands to get it to the right level- it's not a tough dough at all so it's easy to shape and will prevent sticking. Tip 2. if you are using a cutter, dip it into flour each time before cutting and it should slip right out. What i also LOVED was the fact that it was so much easier and quicker to make than the usual doughnut! THanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States