Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
I think there was too much liquid for the amount of dry ingredients listed. However, after kneading in enough flour to roll the dough out, they were easy enough to cut and fry. After the doughnuts drained and cooled a bit, I shook them in a bag of cinnamon and sugar. I haven't tried one yet, but after making them yesterday, my family has put a huge dent in the eighteen doughnuts the recipe yielded. They tell me the doughnuts are better than any cake doughnuts they've had from a store or bakery. For my first time making homemade doughnuts, these turned out better than I expected!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by vanessa
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
really easy recipe! me and my husband had alot of fun making these! We shook them in a bag of icing sugar while they're still hot and coated them and the icing sugar melted to the doughnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanessa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I tried a very small batch of these just to see what they're like. I didn't care for them, because they're not 'cake' donuts. Real cake donuts aren't rolled out. These are more like dense sweet bread in the shape of a donut. I realize most recipes for cake donuts on the web seem to be for rolled-out donuts, but donut cutters in the bakery are actually for the fried yeast donuts, not cake donuts. In the bakery, cake donuts are made with a batter and are dropped onto oil with a dispenser. The dispensers aren't very expensive. And you can find dispensers on the web that come with a traditional cake donut recipe such as that used in bakeries. It's even possible to use boxed cake mixes by altering the amount of wet ingredients added to the batter to make other flavors of cake donuts. But I would not call the donuts in this recipe here 'cake' donuts, because it's not made from a batter, but rather a dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
These donuts were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
The doughnuts taste really good and the recipe is simple to make. I want to thank those of you who complained about the stickiness of the dough, you made my life easier. One cup of milk is really too much for this recipe; I used 2/3 cup of milk and the dough turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. G

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
Tried these today, as I have had a bad graving for a good cake doughnut. Well it past the test. Yes the dough was very sticky. However, coming from a line of chefs & bakers, knew I needed to add more flour (a little at a time) to be able to handle the dough satisfactory. My husband enjoyed them very much and they will be repeated when the urge hits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I was impressed with the simplicity of preparation and exceptional results. The flavor is quite good and even my wife, who can not handle a lot of sweets brags about these doughnuts to others all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dr. John

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Puente, California, USA
Living In: Okmulgee, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
These are very good doughnuts made as is. They are not too sweet, which allows you to enjoy the glaze on them. Watch the oil so it doesn't get too hot, cook only until golden. Thanks for a new doughnut favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I thought they were wonderfull for my first time trying. I had a difficult time moldong the dough however, I had to resort to the donut holes. I was halfway through the dough process when I realized I was out of vanilla so I used almond or some sort instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda F Campbell

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Delicious! Totally filled my craving for a good cake doughnut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States