Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
No good! I may have made an error somewhere, so I gave it 2 stars instead of 1. I thought I followed everything exactly, but the dough was beyond sticky. It was like mud and super glue mixed together. It really had lost all hope before hitting the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
My kids and I just made these and they turned out great. I didn't refrigerate it (kids couldn't wait) and used the spoon drop drop method as well. Not too sweet at all. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ima13
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
I bake on a regular basis, and I decided to do something different. I attempted to make these for my family and they were a big disaster. Not enough flavor on the inside and the sugar topping was overkill, even after allowing the oil to drain away. I will never make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
just made these. they taste great and I was able to make them with stuff on hand! super recipe really. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
My family thoroughly enjoyed this treat. I refrigerated overnight which I think made it easier to roll out/cut out the donuts. Very flavorful, very soft -- and they stayed soft during the week until they were gone. I would highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Great doughnuts! We made 2 double batches .. added a little more cinnamon and nutmeg on the second round, but they are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wejusnot

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Okay, so i have now made this recipe twice. I have made the typical doughnuts too and if that's what you are looking for, this isn't it. However, i loved the the flavor and density of this doughnut! The dough was a really sticky consistency like a lot of people said- but i turned it out straight onto some flour and carefully folded the dough a few times to make it pliable! Little Tip 1. Don't bother using a rolling pin- just use your hands to get it to the right level- it's not a tough dough at all so it's easy to shape and will prevent sticking. Tip 2. if you are using a cutter, dip it into flour each time before cutting and it should slip right out. What i also LOVED was the fact that it was so much easier and quicker to make than the usual doughnut! THanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Just made this for the first time, followed the recipe but left it in the fridge for 2 hours, great results. Dough is a little sticky, but a light dusting of flour before rolling took care of that. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Used this recipe as written in my old Hamilton Beach Donut Maker. Thought it would make them a little healthier. My husband wants them fried, so will try it that way next time. These are easy and quick to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JD

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Followed the recipe and included some of the suggestions re: sticky dough. Was easy to handle with a little extra flour when rolling out. Doughnuts turned out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stacey

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States