Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by MtGracie
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
This recipe is definitely a keeper! Reading the ingredients, I decided there would be enough flavor to skip the cinnamon/sugar coating, and I was right. Going off the advice of other commenters that it needed more time to chill, I made the dough the night before. I still need to work with my oil temperature, but that's my issue, not the recipe. I highly recommend this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
THE TASTE WAS GOOD... BUT MY DOUGH CAME OUT VERY STICKY. WAS THERE ANYTHING THAT I DIDN'T DO?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
awesome and easy. no waiting for donuts to rise. tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
The dough is WAY too sticky to actually make any type of shape other than drop doughnuts. I'm amazed that this recipe has gotten such good reviews. Will not make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
These are good! They are just like I like them: crunchy on the outside and fluffy on the inside. I made holes without refrigerating the dough first becuase I was in a hurry. The dough was tacky but I was able to scoop out about a tablespoon and roll it in my hands to make a ball. I dropped it in the oil and fried for about 2-4 minutes. I didn't have vanilla extract or nutmed and they were still flavorful. I can't wair to try it with those ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakley, California, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
These were very tasty but the dough was impossible to roll. I made them into drop donuts instead. next time I will try chilling the dough a little longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
These are very yummy..I rolled out mini dough balls..I did let them sit a few minutes before adding topping.. I sprinkled a few with confectioners sugar but enjoyed cinnamon and sugar better.. But i give 5 star plus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yolanda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
These were delicious. Yes, the dough is very sticky but it fries up nice. I just dropped spoonfuls into the oil and made doughnut holes. I substituted wheat flour for the white and unsweetened applesauce for the butter and they still turned out great. My kids loved them too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
this turned out great. all 4 kids loved them and thats very rare. i did add more cinamon, nutmeg, and vanallia. will use this again for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
WOW!!!!! These doughnuts were a HUGE hit with my kids. I promised my son that we would make doughnuts and this was the first recipe we tried. I did add a little bit more flour as the dough was way to sticky for me. Other than that I didn't change a thing. Next time I've promised him Chocolate doughnuts, so I'll try modifying this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States