Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I had to double the recipe they turned out so good big fluffy and yummy. Hubby said they were the best I had made. I also kneaded some extra flour into the dough, made it very easy to roll out and cut with my doughnut cutter, just the right amount of flour after you knead it for few min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I am a HUGE doughnut fan but only like cake donuts like these. I made them about 32 yrs ago as a kid and still remember the experience and wanted to bring it to my kids. My sons (4 & 6) kept saying they wanted to go to Dunkin Donuts instead, until we tasted these! Now they asked to make them every weekend! Great texture and flavor and very easy to make. The oil temp is critical and a slight golden color was the best result, although even my brownish ones still tasted good. We bought choc cake frosting and dipped them in sprinkles, which were great. I need to find a recipe for more frosting options, though. Plain with a cup of coffee - I'm addicted! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joni

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
I was really disappointed when I tried this recipe.The dough came out very very sticky and I was unable to roll it out.Ended up making little doughnut balls because of the stickiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Plantation, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
Read all reviews and wanted them to turn out the 1st time. My son wanted donuts for his birthday "cake", so I choose these. I tripled the recipe to get enough and ended up with 43 donuts and holes. So, I used 2/3 cup of milk and room temperature, soft butter and I did use some whole wheat flour. Everything else as stated. Had a nice stiff dough and refrigerated them overnight. Rolled out great in the morning. No problems. For those new to donut making...it may be helpful for you to roll and cut all donuts out while oil is heating up to get that done and have enough ready to cook and also really slick to put freshly fried donuts on flat paper grocery bags spread out. The trickiest part for me in frying is getting that oil to stay the right temp, lots of waiting, don't rush and use oil that's not at temp. (oily donuts) or too hot (burnt, dark donuts). Good recipe with those adjustments, not frustrating as some have experienced. Not too sweet, just right with cinn/sugar and glazes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sarona, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
These are AMAZING with a few tweaks suggested by the other reviews. 1cup is a bit too much milk, I used a little less than a 4th cup less than that. And I rounded my scoops of flour while measuring. This made a perfect consistency and I only chilled about 20 minuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
Great base recipe. We were impatient refrigerate for 1 hour. Meant the dough was a little hard to work with, gooey, but I added a little extra flour and didn’t roll out. Just grabbed spoonfuls, coated in flour so I could touch it, poked a hole in the middle. Left out the cinnamon/sugar/nutmeg in a small portion of dough and added cocoa powder instead to make chocolate ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I followed the recipe 100% and I found the batter to be to sticky When I put the dough on a floured surface it just spread! I tried cutting them with a donut cutter and when I tried picking out the donut to put into the oil it reminded me of childs toy called Green Slime! So I had to add about 1 cup of extra flour so I could at least roll it out and cut it. I should have just scooped it and put it into the oil that way. I might try it one more time...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
This is a fantastic basic cake doughnut recipe. Instead of using melted butter I used a room temp butter. I also used my mixer w/ a dough hook to mix. I did find the dough a little sticky so I added 1/4 cup of flour which made it perfect. Will be holding on to this recipe. I also used someone elses suggestion for 1 1/2 minutes per side while cooking... they came out perfectly cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CakeGirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Yay.....an easy peasy recipe for doughnuts! These are just as yummy as raised doughnuts without the fussiness of yeast. My entire family and I enjoyed them on a snowy day together. Great with chocolate glaze, too! A definite 5 star recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
These doughnuts came out perfect! The dough was a little sticky, but I just added more flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States