Cake Doughnuts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
WE loved these! I didn't think it was possible to make really good, REAL, like from the donut shop donuts. But this recipe makes it possible! It was so simple and the donuts turned out just beautifully and yummy! I did find my batter a little sticky, not much, but when I put the batter on the floured surface and rolled it around, that made the dough perfect. That being said, flour density varies from bag to bag, so I don't think there is a problem with the recipe, I believe it has more to do with the type and brand of flour being used. This is now a family favorite! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eva
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
recipe I was looking for!!! thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
I made the recipe two times as instructed, and even took anothers recommendation to cut the milk to 2/3 cup.The first batch required the full cup, while the second required less than a cup.I also warmed the milk to room temperature as other recipes noted. I didnt have a bit of trouble getting the dough to the right consistency, and they were light and fluffy when fried. If I had rolled them out, Id surely have needed more flour though. My problem is they really didnt have any flavor. Ive been trying various recipes Ive found online trying to get the distinct taste that my Grandmothers did, but to no avail.Im thinking she used more nutmeg than most recipes call for. My adult son, whom I live with, loves having fresh donuts weekly, and not a single complaint about these. I guess Ill have to tweak this recipe a bit. I didnt roll mine out, I dropped them by teaspoonfuls as this is his preference. Personally, I think a lot of people arent taking into consideration the extra flour theyd use when they have to form the dough to roll it out. Most fry cake recipes advise 3 cups flour, 2 1/2 cups to the mix, and the remainder mixed in as you try to handle it, and roll it out. Too much flour tends to make the donuts dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tammy Kelly
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I made this just today, both my kids loved them as well as everyone else who tried. They are easy to make and very fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
ten minute prep time. quick and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan Jolly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I followed the words of the folks who said this dough was too wet. Those folks omitted 1/4 to 1/3 of the milk. I eye balled it and omitted a little over a 1/4. It was still WAY too wet. I chilled it for over 3 hours. I resorted to flouring my hands LIBERALLY, rolling it into balls and flattening the balls to less than 1/4 inch thick before frying. Any thicker and the outside was a hair from burnt and the very center was raw. I tried cooking with oil at the recommended temp, then reduced it to 360 when it was leaving it raw in the middle. On the upside though, they did taste good, my wife and 2 year old liked them. I would try this again but with either 1/4 cup of milk, or leave out the milk altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Great recipe I like my donuts frozen. Sounds crazy but its awesome. After sprinkling with granulated sugar and getting to room temp I out in sandwich bags and put in freezer. Try it before doubting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
Every time I crave something sweet, I get cooking/baking. With my family, these never last after 2 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Loved these. I made my own glaze though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
These were a hit, kids loved them. I used floured parchment paper to roll them out on, seemed to work really well. I had tried the counter before using the parchment and it created a huge mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fluffy Cake Doughnuts

Go ahead, have a doughnut! These amazing cake doughnuts are baked not fried.

Crispy and Creamy Doughnuts

See how to make perfect glazed doughnuts.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States