Cake Batter Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This was SO good! The only complaint I have was that it didnt make a big enough batch and it was gone too fast!! I will be making this again very soon! It was pretty easy to make too. This was my first time making ice cream and it turned out amazing! Next time I will try chocolate cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This is SO, SO good. I did not change a thing because it is the first time I have ever made ice cream and it came out SO good. Next time, I am going to add jam, blueberrie or strawberry for something a little extra. You have to make this ice cream!!!!!! Thank you!!!!!! I don't have an ice cream machine but it does not matter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I was soooo excited to make this ice cream. I adore cake batter and enjoy Cold Stone's Cake Batter Ice Cream. The taste of this ice cream is spot on, yet the texture is throwing me for a loop. I though, perhaps, it was just me, as I prefer my ice cream super cold and almost *icy*, as opposed to creamy. Then, I asked Mr. LTH to try it and he said exactly the same thing (and he's a creamy ice cream kind of guy). It's def worth giving a try; I'm anxious to see our guests reactions to it tonight! THANKS for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
It took me 3 attempts (the first two failed because I didn't have a thermometer), but the third time was the charm -- it tastes just like Cold Stone's cake batter ice cream! I highly recommend not trying to make this without a thermometer, because if you leave it on the stove just a little too long, it gets way too thick and ends up the consistency of pudding or frosting. EDIT, November 2010: I still make this all the time, but now I leave out the egg yolks and skip the cooking part entirely. I whisk together all the remaining ingredients and just pour them straight into the ice cream maker. The taste is exactly the same and it's a lot less work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Oh my goodness, there should be a law against this, this is very good i mean very very very good. i just finished making this and just had a taste and its like heaven on earth. I had cake batter cake once and it was so good, this tasted nothing like what i remember but this is still so great. it does taste just like cake batter, its so smooth and creamy and all and all very easy to make. i will make this again and again. my only problem is it does not make a lot, not that i need it but geez this was excellent. you have to try this, also i tasted this as it was cooking and i knew then i was gonna love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tonit22

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
The major ice cream manufacturer's should take note of this recipe, because this is the most true form of cake batter ice cream I have tasted. It is comparable to Cold Stone Creamery's Cake Batter Ice Cream. I added 1 cup of yellow cake mix, which is just a little more than the recipe calls for. I realized after I began making this that the recipe required a ice cream maker, but have no fear, you can make this without one with success! Let your mixture cool in the freezer for 20 minutes and then pour into a large casserole dish or a cake pan. Freeze for 20-30 minute increments and take out in between and beat the ice cream with a hand mixer. I only had to freeze and beat the ice cream 4 times until it was done. I honestly think I will never buy ice cream again. This was easy and you could easily use a chocolate cake mix too. This is not runny at all as some other reviewers said, make sure you use the correct ingredients. For the milk, I used whole milk and make sure you do not substitute the heavy cream for anything else. This is a CREAMY ice cream, not an icy ice cream. **Update** I have since purchased a Kitchen-Aid Ice Cream Attachment and I use that and it works great. I have used both white cake mix and yellow cake mix and the white cake mix tasted "off" so I highly suggest using yellow cake mix for a more authentic taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Quite a nice tasting ice cream, makes a change from the usual flavors, Vanilla, chocolate etc. I did have to use yellow cake mix (all I had in the pantry, not something I really stock) also used just half and half. Made this first thing this morning, and its still quite sloppy (Maybe something to do with the fact I only used half and half). I am pretty sure it will be fine tomorrow (I have had to have a taste sample of course and its good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Really very good! I used yellow cake mix and it gave it a very slight "french vanilla" color, rather than pure white. It was not quite as strong in cake batter flavor as certain ice cream stores, but still good. I put cut up brownies in the ice cream maker in the last 5 minutes, and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lrconner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
This turned out excellant will definately try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States