Cake Batter Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
This ice cream was really really good :) it was rich and creamy and i used a yellow cake mix instead of white and it still tasted great kind of like a rich frosting will definitely make again and again. i have made this recipe time and again and its always turned out wonderful for me :) you could change it into a regular ice cream by omitting the cake mix and adding whatever flavors you like chocolate pieces, cookie dough, and mint extract are all the flavors i've added and theyve all come out wonderful this is definitely my go to base recipe when i make ice cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinaydancercv3

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Hyde Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Delicious & comparable to Cold Stone Creamery's. I used a yellow cake mix & upped the amount from 3/4 to one cup mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhianna

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
I made this with a cup of the cake batter and accidently bought half and half rather than whipping cream. Still tastes like the real thing! Mixed in sprinkles, brownie bits, and fudge. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Amazing! I used yellow butter cake mix and skim milk (because skim milk might make a difference with all of that cream?) and the results were better than I could have imagined! Tasty and easy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anderson, Missouri, USA
Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
Holy Smokey the Bear!! I could almost hear the loudspeaker last night: "step away from the ice cream!" The only change I made was half and half in place of cream. Deadly good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
I didn't want to cook the mixture so I left out the eggs. I also used 1 cup of milk and 2 cups of 1/2 & 1/2. Turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This was SO good! The only complaint I have was that it didnt make a big enough batch and it was gone too fast!! I will be making this again very soon! It was pretty easy to make too. This was my first time making ice cream and it turned out amazing! Next time I will try chocolate cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This is SO, SO good. I did not change a thing because it is the first time I have ever made ice cream and it came out SO good. Next time, I am going to add jam, blueberrie or strawberry for something a little extra. You have to make this ice cream!!!!!! Thank you!!!!!! I don't have an ice cream machine but it does not matter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
I was soooo excited to make this ice cream. I adore cake batter and enjoy Cold Stone's Cake Batter Ice Cream. The taste of this ice cream is spot on, yet the texture is throwing me for a loop. I though, perhaps, it was just me, as I prefer my ice cream super cold and almost *icy*, as opposed to creamy. Then, I asked Mr. LTH to try it and he said exactly the same thing (and he's a creamy ice cream kind of guy). It's def worth giving a try; I'm anxious to see our guests reactions to it tonight! THANKS for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
It took me 3 attempts (the first two failed because I didn't have a thermometer), but the third time was the charm -- it tastes just like Cold Stone's cake batter ice cream! I highly recommend not trying to make this without a thermometer, because if you leave it on the stove just a little too long, it gets way too thick and ends up the consistency of pudding or frosting. EDIT, November 2010: I still make this all the time, but now I leave out the egg yolks and skip the cooking part entirely. I whisk together all the remaining ingredients and just pour them straight into the ice cream maker. The taste is exactly the same and it's a lot less work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States