Cake Batter Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 15, 2011
I love this! I always get cake batter ice cream at Cold Stone with brownies mixed in, so I baked some & added them in the last few minutes of the ice cream maker. So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorna1966

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rosamond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
This was a nice base recipe inspiration but not all that wonderful on its own. I agree with the reviewer who said to use yellow cake mix and more of it -- that's a no-brainer. White cake mix has zero flavor and usually makes an awful tasting cake. I used a DH yellow cake mix. I used organic jumbo sized eggs which I think gave it too much of a custard-y egg-y taste so next time I'll cut back to two eggs or three regular large eggs (the recipe doesn't tell us what size eggs). This recipe has to increase the vanilla to get it anywhere in the ballpark of Cold Stone's cake batter ice cream. I think I probably used two or three TABLESPOONS before I decided it had sufficient vanilla taste. I also doubled the recipe and added two full cups of cake mix. Next time I might get a vanilla bean and scrape the insides into the batter for a stronger, more authentic vanilla taste. Last, I finely chopped two semi sweet chocolate bars and added them once the ice cream was getting to milkshake consistency. Without the chocolate this would not have been half as good. I will try this again with less egg and maybe more cake mix and more vanilla via fresh beans. This is a good recipe inspiration but needs some help to reach the right to be called even close to cold stone's or any commercial brand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I think you may have just saved my peanut-allergic son's childhood! He's had reactions to even the "safest" store-bought ice creams, so it's been tough. And then we found this little gem. It's the best ice cream I've ever tasted and totally safe for him. Thank you from the bottom of my heart!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Absolutely delicious!!! I did use one full cup of cake mix as suggested by others but other than that, it was incredible. Try it and you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
I love love love this recipe! My husband says it tastes better than anything we could have bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This is exceptional. I've never made ice cream before and this was so easy and rewarding. Used MySweetCreations alterations. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
YUMMY!!! I can't believe I've forgotten to rate this little gem! My family eats ice cream year round and we LOVE this. We do make it like MySweetCreations recommends and use 1cup of yellow but otherwise follow the recipe! Thanks so much for sharing. This was our first homemade icecream recipe to try out and I'm so glad we did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerstin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Wow this was good. Very rich though. I think next time it will be half and half. The taste will be just as good, just wont be as thick going down! A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Donahue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Franklin, Indiana, USA
Living In: Vista, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Use 1 cup yellow cake mix & 1 cup half in half instead of milk. Let the batter chill overnight before churning. Super rich!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Excellent. Thick, creamy custard ice cream! The cake batter taste was a little muted, I would add more cake mix next time (perhaps even doubled). But still, was a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States