Cake Batter Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
This was yummy but I'll definitely make some tweaks next time. I added a full cup of cake mix as some of the reviewers suggested but I think the cake batter flavor was a little overwhelming so I'll stick to 3/4 cup next time. Also, the mixture formed large clumps at the bottom even though I was stirring constantly over medium/low heat. Not sure how I'll avoid this next time. Finally, make sure you freeze the ice cream before serving, I served it immediately and it was a little too custard-y (we froze the leftovers and they were so much better). FYI I used the Kitchenaid ice cream attachment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
It's cake batter, it's ice cream, it's delicious! This is a rich and creamy treat that I will make again. I did follow others advice by upping the cake mix to 1 cup. Can't wait to try it with yellow cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
great recipe. I made mine with red velvet cake mix and pieces of red velvet cake it turned out perfect. I did add 1 cup of milk and 4 egg yolks to make it more custard like. Also, it is better to add the cake mix and cream after you cook the yolks, sugar, and milk to keep it from being so thick and cooking the cake mix. great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Tastes EXACTLY like the Cake Batter ice cream at Coldstone. Delicious. Used 1 cup yellow cake mix instead of 3/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sapna Bhatia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Im sure it is great if using the right cake mix. DO NOT use funfettie cake mix. I will try this again but with a yellow cake mix like another user suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
Very creamy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
I absolutely love this recipe. It came out so rich and creamy. For a little fun I added so rainbow sprinkles just before it was done in the icecream maker and it was a big hit !!! I would recommend this recipe to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Great idea! This tasted super similar to Cold Stone Creamery's version. I have to admit, we ran out of time and had to cheat....we took a half gallon of vanilla ice cream and mixed (in batches) just the cake mix to taste. Then we stuck the glasses in the freezer to refreeze. (It got pretty melted by the time you had it mixed well). Big hit from the whole group tonight! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ames86

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oak Lawn, Illinois, USA
Living In: New Salem, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Delish! I went with one full cup of yellow cake mix. We'll be keeping this recipe handy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
i used this recipe, then took the remaining cake mix and made a tall 9 inch round cake. I then cut it into three layer and used the ice cream to stick them together, and frosted with a homemade cream cheese frosting. I was told to box and sell these cakes. it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brelax27

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States