Cake Batter Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
so good better than some of the other store stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
We used yellow cake mix, as we did not have white. It turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
This was easy for the steps you must go through for making ice cream. I was impressed when I tasted it. It melts creamier than store bought ice cream. Look up recipes to use your left over cake mix. I made cake mix cookies but next time will try the apple crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I gave this recipe to my mother, I had just purchased a ice cream maker for her. She said it was delicious! As always you have to refridgerate the oce cream over night to get the true "ice cream" consistancy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
Got too thick and pudding like with cooking. Then froze too quickly. Was more frozen pudding than ice cream. Too much cake batter in this. Sounded good but nah. Recipe followed exactly as written. Will keep looking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Simply put, this ice cream is phenomenal! I baked a birthday cake for a friend who decided he wanted cake-flavored ice cream to go with it. So, I made an ice cream cake roll, and used this for the filling. I had a REALLY hard time not sampling it to death while it was in the ice cream maker, and the cake roll turned out fantastic because of it. Thank you for sharing this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
Followed the recipe except used yellow cake mix instead of white. The flavor of this ice cream is amazing. It tastes just like cake batter. The consistency/mouthfeel is not as good. Before pouring into the ice cream machine the mixture was very thick, and it transferred to the ice cream itself. Very thick and custard. I would make again because it tastes amazing, but might work on how to make it less thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna-Bat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
Yum! I no longer have cravings to go to ColdStone or MaggieMoos to get some of this stuff. It is so easy to make (does need to be done a bit ahead of time though) and tastes almost identical to the stuff at the icecream shops! I would use yellow cake mix as opposed to white because yellow has a stronger flavor for the icecream. Just as a tip to others 3/4 cup of cake mix ends up being about half of the package.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvvcooking

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I hate to be the ogre who gives the thumbs down, but this is not quite right. To me, it tasted like custard. Also, for ice cream shop (c.s. in particular, which I am a frequent customer of) cake batter ice cream, there is a distinct (for lack of a better term) "powdery" taste, which I love. It makes it actually taste like cake mix. IF i were to try and make this again I would do a full cup of mix. Also, when cooking it, my mixture jumped quickly from 150 degrees all the way to 175. I'll watch that more carefully, in case that added to the 'custardy' flavor. Decent, but not what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Pretty good - needs some changes as some of the reviews suggested but tried it as is first. Will make again using more cake mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States