Cake Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
#1) Bake cake as directed. #2) Let the cake COOL for at least a half hour! Don't mix in the frosting while HOT! You will get a gooey, albeit yummy, mess! #3) I used a handmixer to mix the cake and frosting. I used a dark chocolate cake and cream cheese frosting. #4) Put this mixture in the refrigerator, covered, for at least 3 hours but I did it overnight and it was perfect. #5) Using your hands, roll the balls bite size. I used a foil covered cookie sheet because I was out of wax paper. Wax paper is preferred. #6) Stick the balls in the freezer for an hour. #7) Melt up whatever chocolate you prefer (i buy my chocolate at a mennonite bulk foods store as I can't stand that melting bark stuff they sell at the grocery, yuck!!) 8) Using a toothpick, pick up the balls and dip in the chocolate. Using a second toothpick in the other hand help the ball slid off the toothpick. NOTE:If your balls fall off the toothpick into the chocolate they are not frozen enough. 9) Place in refrigerator to set. 10) Enjoy, these are SUPERB!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5748 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEXI70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2008
These are great!!! And so easy!!! I see some members say they take hours to make (like one says 7....NOT!!! ) If you follow the instructions they are not that hard!!! Here's some of the variations I have used: Variations/flavors: • White cake mix and mint chocolate chip icing - Dipped in chocolate confectioners coating. • French vanilla cake with white chocolate almond icing. – Dipped in chocolate confectioners coating. • Red velvet with cream cheese icing and vanilla confectioners coating. • Red velvet with cream cheese icing dipped into milk chocolate coating. • Chocolate cake, milk chocolate icing, dipped into chocolate bark. • Lemon cake with lemon frosting and dip them in whit chocolate. • Lemon cake mixed in white chocolate chips and lemon frosting, dipped in white chocolate. • Spice cake with cream cheese frosting and coated them with white chocolate coating. • Cherry chip cake mix and cream cheese frosting dipped in white chocolate. • Fudge cake, mixed in peppermint chips and fudge frosting. Dip in dark chocolate. • Chocolate fudge cake mix and coconut pecan frosting dipped into chocolate. • Chocolate cake, butter cream icing, and dark chocolate coating. • Chocolate cake/chocolate icing and dipped into raspberry/chocolate chips are melted with a bit of oil. • German chocolate cake mix with coconut pecan frosting & dipped in melted semi sweet chocolate chips. • Strawberry with vanilla frosting, dipped in chocolate. • Carrot cake with cream cheese frost
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3330 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
I have been making this item for about 1.5 years and am doing them for Christmas this year. I find it easier to dip if the prepared balls are refrigerated for about an hour, and dip them using an old Easter egg dye dipper instead of toothpicks (it wastes less chocolate and there is no fighting to get it off the toothpick). I am making smaller balls (half of the mellon baller) and made 26 dozen from 3 cakes. One batch is with a white cake mix and mint chocolate chip icing and the other with a french vanilla cake with white chocolate almond icing; both dipped in chocolate confectioners coating. My all time favorite though is red velvet with cream cheese icing and vanilla confectioners coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1799 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2006
These are so delicious! I used German chocolate cake mix and pecan coconut frosting and dipped them in chocolate almond bark. I crumbled the cake right after it came out of the oven, so it was still quite hot, but I believe that is one of the things that make it really stick together. Also make sure you crumble it into tiny crumbs. Whenever I ran into a big chunk the ball refused to form and would only crumble. I then froze the balls solid before dipping. I melted the bark in a 4 cup Pyrex measuring cup, dropped one ball in at a time, lifted it out on a fork, and scraped it back onto the cold cookie sheet with another fork. They came out beautiful and by placing back on the cold cookie sheet, the chocolate hardened in about 15 seconds. I can't wait to share this recipe with all my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
897 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2007
These things looked freaking awesome!!!! Mine also took an entire package of chocolate bark. I used milk chocolate cake, milk chocolate icing and the chocolate bark. It was divine. I had no problem with them holding together and I used my Pampered Chef scoop to make my balls uniform in size. I also used my egg seperator to dip them, it worked like a charm and the excess chocolate dripped right through. Betty Crocker makes a product called drizzlers, they are in a microwaveable pouch and come with a tip attached. I bought one of these in the white icing and after the chocolate dip dried, I drizzled the white all over and they were beautiful! I had little foil papers to put them in when they dried and they looked like they could have been made professionally! Well worth the time and effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
823 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiffanyNottingham

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelbyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
This recipe just couldn't be easier. I read all the reviews and followed others' advice. 1) Trim off the edges of the cake to make it easier to crumble. 2) Mix in the frosting when the cake is still warm. You may only need half a container of frosting. 3) Use a cookie scoop to round your balls. 4) Freeze the balls for at least 2 hrs so they're firm enough to handle (plus it makes the chocolate dipping that much easier). 5) Use a skewer for dipping and since the balls are frozen, the chocolate hardens pretty quickly. I've made german chocolate and chocolate mint versions (just add peppermint extract to the frosting). It was a hit with all my coworkers. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
687 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TRINAFOS
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
I made my cake last night. When i got home from church i cut the cake into about 2in pieces and put them all in my kitchen aid. I put the icing in the micorwave for 25 seconds, (just long enough to soften it and not make it runny) to make it easier to stir in. The cake was just the right for making balls. My five year old DD even helped me make balls. We got 54 balls out of our batch. I put them in the freezer for about an hour before diping them in the chocolate. When I melted I the choclate I only melted 3 squares of the almond bark at a time and i put about a tsp of shortening in it (very important). I put a tooth pick in the cake ball dipped it in chocolate and then I left the tooth pick in util it dried and then i went back and filled the whole with choclate. This recipe is definitly a keeper and I WILL be making it again. Next time I'm going to try it with strawbery cake and iceing.. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
534 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Blountville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wifeyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
These were beautiful! I was a little hesitant to make them because of some of the bad reviews, but after adjusting some things, they came out wonderful! I used duncan hines devils food, and milk choc frosting. I baked the cake ALL the way, let cool completely, crumbled in a big mixing bowl, and added only 1/2 of the frosting! that makes it less of a mush, and more cake like. I mixed it with a fork, It will still look a little crumbly,but when you form balls they stick together. I rolled them, and refrigerated them for an hour. I melted a bag of semisweet choc chips with some shortening, and dipped the balls into it and set it to cool on a waxed paper surface. Let cool completely and drizzled with white chocolate! yummy! you have to try them, they are a little time consuming but worth every bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
481 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifeyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
YUM YUM YUM! I used strawberry cake mix with white frosing then dipped in dark chocolate. They taste very much like chocolate covered strawberries! As others have stated, you must freeze these for at least one hour before trying to dip them. Also, another trick for making the balls is to keep your hands slightly moist. I found that by doing this, the mixture did not stick to my hands and forming the balls was much easier! I have been passing this recipe on to many people and plan to make these again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
476 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
These are wonderful!! The combination I used was chocolate cake, chocolate icing and Andes candy bits. If you like Girl Scout Thin Mints you will love these. They taste exactly the same only moist instead of being crunchy like the cookies. I did refrigerator the cake / frosting mixture for a few hours before rolling the balls. I also used an egg separator tool to dip and drain the chocolate from them. This worked much easier for me then toothpicks or forks. I can't wait to try different flavors!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
467 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,845) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Balls

See how to make easy, fun, and festive cake balls.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States