Cake Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
I have been making this item for about 1.5 years and am doing them for Christmas this year. I find it easier to dip if the prepared balls are refrigerated for about an hour, and dip them using an old Easter egg dye dipper instead of toothpicks (it wastes less chocolate and there is no fighting to get it off the toothpick). I am making smaller balls (half of the mellon baller) and made 26 dozen from 3 cakes. One batch is with a white cake mix and mint chocolate chip icing and the other with a french vanilla cake with white chocolate almond icing; both dipped in chocolate confectioners coating. My all time favorite though is red velvet with cream cheese icing and vanilla confectioners coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1805 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
These are so unique and very good! I like the versatility of this recipe. I added some finely chopped pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2004
hugee hit~ will make again. probably try different flavors. oooh exciting. i followed the other advice and placed the balls in the fridge for an hour. came out perfect~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2004
These are good. DH liked them and he hates anything that's too sweet/rich. Got 5 doz with my 1" scooper. Dipped about a dozen in dipping chocolate, which seemed thick and goopy and even with the egg dipper was a pain cause some of the balls slid through. Good idea though! Ended up dumping the melted chocolate in a ziploc, snipped the corner off and drizzling it over the remaining balls and then let them set up. Won't make these often, but when I need something that looks fancy these are fairly easy (tho a little time consuming but can be done in advance). Forgot to refrigerate the balls, that would definitely help next time. [Update] This is also a really good way to "sculpt" cake shapes for DS's Cub Scout Blue & Gold Dinner. It was the basis for this year's Death Star and Vader's Tie Fighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
I will use this recipe again. Refrigerating before coating is a must. I used a lot more chocolate coating than what this recipe calls for. Do not melt the chocolate in a microwave. Use a double boiler so the coating remains the right consistency for dipping. We made these for my dad's 95th birthday party, with the idea of making them look like road apples (horse manure). My father lives on a farm and is a horse lover. We used chocolate cake, German chocolate frosting and chocolate coating. After coating them with chocolate we rolled them in green and yellow, lightly toasted coconut. We made these of varing sizes, but averaged two inches. These were stacked up in a child's wheelbarrow. They were quite a hit! Three cake mixes, 4 cans of frosting yielded 100.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
These are GREAT! I took them to work today and they all BEGGED me to make more tomorrow! I used vanilla cake and chocolate icing. It was hard to dip them in the chocolate coating though. I did refrigerate them first but bits of cake would come off in the chocolate and gum it up. So I ended up pouring chocolate over the tops. I used my larger scoop to make the balls and it made way more than 36. I had to use a lot more chocolate coating also. Added note- the next time I made these, I FROZE the balls before dipping and that worked WAY better!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
Was I supposed to overbake the cake until it was dry and crumbly? I baked the cake as directed, and it looked perfectly moist and fluffy while I was crumbling it. After mixing in the canned frosting, however, it turned into a gelatinous mess that had the look and consistency of a wet sponge. Even chilling it didn't help. This recipe sounded like a great idea, but it just didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHILICAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
These are really good. I did the chocolate cake with chocolate frosting and chocolate almond bark and it was great. Like others, I think there are other flavor combos that will be even better. I froze the balls before I dipped them and that makes it easy. Also, that must be a typo about the amt. of almond bark...I used a whole package and I think it was a pound and a half! Very good and different...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
Very good. Leave a lot of time for prep. I mixed the cake and frosting, rolled into balls with my hands, placed on cookie sheet lined with parchment paper...then put in the freezer for 30 minutes before dipping. I used 2 spoons to coat and dip into the vanilla almond bark. I also used 3X as much almond bark than the recipe called for...then sprinkled with colored red sugar after dipping. Very pleasing to the eye..and got rave reviews from family and co-workers. Thank you for the recipe! Second making of cake balls....white cake with strawberry icing, coated with vanilla almond bark...pure Heaven! Third making of "The Balls". Red velvet cake with vanilla icing coated with vanilla almond bark...It does NOT get any better than this! I absolutely love this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delmar, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fruitland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
Our local baker makes these and won't give out the recipe. I made this recipe and let several people try them and they couldn't tell the difference. Very rich and wonderful. I used choc chips with 1/2 bar of home parafin wax for the outer chocolate instead of the confectioners choc. I think it's easier to work with. I've been asked for the recipe by everyone who has tried them so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elk City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Mustang, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,845) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Cake Balls

See how to make easy, fun, and festive cake balls.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States