Cake Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
poor directions
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I've made these many times. I've tried all kinds of combinations....Carrot cake with cream cheese frosting and white coating....Lemon cake with lemon frosting and white coating...red velvet cake with cream cheese frosting and dark chocolate coating. Let me tell you, they are a HUGE hit at Church suppers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gulfport, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Euless, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2012
Great recipe!! The first time I made this, the result was Devils Food cake mixed with 1/2 a can of chocolate raspberry frosting and dipped it in white chocolate (with a bit of shortening in it). That was a bit too sweet for me though, so the next round was Devils food cake mixed with about 1/2 cup of very strong coffee and dipped in semi-sweet chocolate. The result was similar to a very rich and tasty truffle! Absolutely delicious!! Note: In both instances, I had to pop the cake/frosting or cake/coffee mix into the freezer for an hour so I could form the cake balls easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I've made these numerous times with different combinations of cake and icing. Although I haven't read all of the reviews, I did notice that many people who didn't like this recipe said it was mushy. My guess is that the people making these have only had the "cake pops" that are really just cake on a stick. True cake pops are supposed to have the texture of raw cake batter. That is one the best things about them! The outside is crunchy and the inside is gooey!!! The only thing that I change is the amount of frosting; I use about 3/4 of a can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I love this!!! its my favorite bite size dessert!!! great to bring over a get together :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I make these all the time. Everyone loves them! I find it easier to freeze the mixture before dipping just because they are a bit more stable when you place them in warm chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Yuck. Soggy, canned-frosting-flavored cake. Between the mushy cake and the waxy outside candy coating, the textures are very unpleasant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I have been making these for 3 years for work goody Day everyone one raves about them, they go fast.Some tell me they taste let Hostess King Dongs! chocolate is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheridan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Despite this recipe being time consuming and a bit messy, I really enjoyed these! I'm excited to try a tiramisu recipe I found. They are easy and fun! My SpEd students really enjoyed making these for a Christmas activity. Thinking of making them bigger and doing cake pops for the fundraisers we do. For those who don't get how to do it or who have had negative outcomes, something with the mix is not right. It's best to really crumble the (COOLED) cake so there are no big chunks and to use a little bit of frosting at first, and then add as needed. If a whole tub is used, the balls will not form properly. Happy Cake Balling ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Choyce13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Excellent--but I used chocolate chips melted with some shortening instead of the confectioners coating--never like the waxy taste of those or the store bought wafers, ick. These turned out wonderfully. Important to let the balls freeze for about 40 mins to allow for easier dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,845) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Balls

See how to make easy, fun, and festive cake balls.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States