Cake Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I've made these numerous times with different combinations of cake and icing. Although I haven't read all of the reviews, I did notice that many people who didn't like this recipe said it was mushy. My guess is that the people making these have only had the "cake pops" that are really just cake on a stick. True cake pops are supposed to have the texture of raw cake batter. That is one the best things about them! The outside is crunchy and the inside is gooey!!! The only thing that I change is the amount of frosting; I use about 3/4 of a can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I love this!!! its my favorite bite size dessert!!! great to bring over a get together :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
I make these all the time. Everyone loves them! I find it easier to freeze the mixture before dipping just because they are a bit more stable when you place them in warm chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2012
Yuck. Soggy, canned-frosting-flavored cake. Between the mushy cake and the waxy outside candy coating, the textures are very unpleasant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
I have been making these for 3 years for work goody Day everyone one raves about them, they go fast.Some tell me they taste let Hostess King Dongs! chocolate is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheridan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Despite this recipe being time consuming and a bit messy, I really enjoyed these! I'm excited to try a tiramisu recipe I found. They are easy and fun! My SpEd students really enjoyed making these for a Christmas activity. Thinking of making them bigger and doing cake pops for the fundraisers we do. For those who don't get how to do it or who have had negative outcomes, something with the mix is not right. It's best to really crumble the (COOLED) cake so there are no big chunks and to use a little bit of frosting at first, and then add as needed. If a whole tub is used, the balls will not form properly. Happy Cake Balling ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Choyce13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Excellent--but I used chocolate chips melted with some shortening instead of the confectioners coating--never like the waxy taste of those or the store bought wafers, ick. These turned out wonderfully. Important to let the balls freeze for about 40 mins to allow for easier dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
So these are amazing! Yes they are time-consuming (I personally find rolling the balls the most labor intensive, but I feel that way about those cute meatballs in Holiday Wedding Soup too ;) I agree that boxed mixes make boxed cakes....why not just take your favorite cake recipe, a simple icing recipe and make them from scratch??? Muchhhhhh better! I made the cake/icing mix after cooling the cake 30 min as directed, my icing was a bit thinner than canned so it was easy to add in as needed. I froze the 80 truffle balls overnite on the wax paper lined baking sheets. They were perfect for coating in the chocolate! I did Red Velvet Cake Truffles with Cream cheese icing,dipped in melted Wilton chocolates....white, dark, and milk chocolate. I put 3T of melted chocolate (each variety in separate baggies) drizzled the truffles, and put in mini foil cupcake liners for a party They are beautiful! One cake recipe yielded 80 truffles...so next time I'll 1/2 my recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Fun recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bcontro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by w8n2xhl
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
It is crucial to refrigerate overnight or freeze for at least an hour these cake balls before dipping into chocolate. If making cake pops, melt chocolate and dip the tip of the lollipop stick into the chocolate and stick that tip into the balls (it'll look like tiny caramel apples getting ready for the caramel bath) then stick these in the fridge/freezer to firm up. THEN you can dip into the melted chocolate. For a regular cake mix, I'd only use a cup of the frosting. That is more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by w8n2xhl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jeannette, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,842) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Balls

See how to make easy, fun, and festive cake balls.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States