Cake Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Absolutely delicious! Only need 1/4 can of frosting. If you mix with your hands you'll know when the cake to frosting ratio is just right. I followed another reviewer's suggestion and washed my hands several times while making the balls. It definitely helped keep them in tact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Easy to make and delicious to eat. Makes a truffle like cake ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
These are amazing and a huge hit everytime i make them. I have gave this recipe to about 25 people now who after they try one insist on having the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
These are very delicious! I had trouble keeping the balls together when I dipped them in the chocolate (red velevet covered with white chocolate). I took some suggestions and froze the balls then dipped them, but small pieces kept falling off and by the time I finished there were small flecks of red velvet in my white chocolate. It didn't affect the taste, but it just didn't look as pretty as I wanted. Maybe I did something wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksosbee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yale, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Made these for a kid's party. Easy and a hit. Felt like I was cheating. Next time I will add some kind of "spirit" to make them adult rated. Mmmm (hic)...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
My homemade cake recipe on this site flopped...as in crumbled. So I grabbed the vanilla flavored chips to melt.. yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Photo by conqueress
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I don't remember WHEN I learned of this recipe - these sell well at bake sales and also no problem to make ahead of time. They keep well at least a week. One thing I also do is make LITTLE cake balls using pretzels instead of pop sticks - great for smaller portions. Pretzels are earth freindly so to speak. I will be making the little ones and big ones for my son's wedding reception. Recently I found a recipe using cream cheese - will try that this week. The book "Cake Pops: Tips, Tricks, and Recipes for More Than 40 Irresistible Mini Treats" adds a lot of fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conqueress

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA
Photo by amberlynne
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This was an awesome idea! I used less icing, that's the only "modification" but they turned out delicious! I added a photo of them. I drizzeled white icing over the vanilla cake, and fudge icing over the chocolate cakes to tell them apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amberlynne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Made these today for a cookout we were having with some neighbors, everyone liked them. I used chocolate cake and chocolate icing then dipped them in white chocolate and put some sprinkles on top. I was short on time but I think next time once the cake is crumbled and the icing mixed in I would refrigerate the mixture for a couple hours before rolling it will roll nicer and probably not have as many crumbs in the chocolate...I would even refrigerate again after they are rolled. I used a silpat on a cookie sheet and the chocolate covered balls came off very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
The all chocolate balls were unbelievable! Tried lemon cake w/lemon icing and white bark...not so great. I would stick with the chocolate. My child who doesn't even like sweets fell in love with these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,846) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cake Balls

See how to make easy, fun, and festive cake balls.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States