Cake Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Love these. I made my own cake and frosting from scratch, and dipped them using a plastic fork with the 2 middle 'teeth' broken off. I let my sons help decorate with sprinkles. Fun and delicious. I'll make them again and again, cant wait to experiment with different flavors/colors/decorations. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bat Ma'am

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Normally, I love the convenience of boxed cake mixes & canned frosting. But for cake balls, I've found that using homemade cake & homemade frosting makes for a firmer, more cake-like texture that I prefer. Also, since I find the cake sweet enough on it's own, I usually substitute heavy cream, applesauce, canned pumpkin, coffee, chocolate syrup, or liqueur for the frosting. All it takes is just enough liquid/wet ingredient(s) to adequately moisten the cake so it will hold it's ball shape; otherwise, it ends up with that typical cake ball consistency that is very much (I'm sorry to say) like eating pre-chewed cake & frosting. I've even used raspberry jam (with white cake, along with a bit of heavy cream) with great success. Frankly, the sky's the limit! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
First time trying these. I used white cake and strawberry coating with butter cream frosting. They were fun to make. They have a hidden heart under the melts. :) I made these pink lemonade ones this time. Yummy. I've made many more cake balls but none as fun as this Ice Cream Cone Sundae cake ball. Try these you'll have so much fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
After all the reviews I read I expected these to be off the wall. They were just OK....not that great in my book. I followed the recipe exactly and used strawberry cake mix with strawberry frosting covered in white chocolate. I also tried chocolate cake mix with milk chocolate frosting covered in white chocolate. I made them for my daughter's birthday party, and while they looked pretty, nobody really liked them. I will not make them again, it was not worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I made these, and thay were fine up until the dipping part. We made them, then froze them for about 45 minutes, then melted the chocolate. The 4 oz. bar only covered 7 cakeballs! I don't know what went wrong, but 3-4 oz. of chocolate is not enough!!!!! we are going to try making some frosting and decorating them, but I think they will be too sweet. I will not be making these again. -Natalie :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Herr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
I made this for the first time last night, but tweaked a few things. I used strawberry cake and strawberry icing. First, my cake pan was in use from a baby shower cake, so I had to use other resources. So I made cupcakes instead, spraying the pan with nonstick spray instead of wasting cupcake liners. Once done, I put them all in a bowl and stuck them in the fridge for 30 min, then used a handmixer to combine them with the icing. Chilled the combo for about an hour, then froze the balls for a few hours. I used semisweet and dark chocolate morsels from Ghiraddeli combined in a cereal bowl and used a spoon to roll the balls around in. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I used amaretto liquor with yellow cake and dipped it in chocolate. It tasted good but the time to dip and mess with toothpicks stuck in each and then I stuck those in a big piece of styrofoam so the would be nicely formed was just too much work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
I made them for the first time. They were fun and easy to made. I used the Wilton candy melts to coat them and they worked well. Also, I froze the cake balls before I dipped them and that helped. I'm excited about trying different cake mixes and getting creative with them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Four stars because they seem to be well liked by others. Not me, too sweet, too messy and I agree with those that said just make cup cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Time consuming but overall very easy to make! I used 1/2-3/4 of frosting and the consistency was perfect. I chilled them in the fridge before dipping them in almond bark. They were a huge hit at a Christmas party. Thanks for the easy instructions!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,850) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Balls

See how to make easy, fun, and festive cake balls.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States