Cake Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Allison
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
My new obsession... Cake pops. So freaking yummy and fun. I used almost a whole package of the almond bark for a batch. I found that the red velvet cake mix was much more moist than the yellow butter cake I did. With the red velvet cake, I used only about a half cup of frosting. The yellow butter cake was my fave so far, used vanilla frosting and milk chocolate to dip. Can't wait to try other flavor combos like choc. mint or carrot cake. Also, decorating is fun, we are going to do Wrestlemania themed cake balls next month
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Milaca, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I made these for a Christmas party, and all of them were gobbled up. I used yellow cake, and vanilla frosting that I doctored up with some peppermint extract and red food coloring. I rolled the cake balls in melted semi-sweet chocolate and then sprinkled them with crushed peppermints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
They fell apart when I dipped them in chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YummyFood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I have made these many, many times throughout the years. I have added different extracts such as peppermint, orange, rum, raspberry to just plain yellow cake mix or your own favorite recipe for yellow cake mix. The trick I find most helpful is to NOT use warm cake but to let the cake cool, then add 1/2 container of cream cheese frosting to make it less sweet. If you need to you can always add more frosting. Form into balls and refrigerate for about an hour or longer, or you may freeze them for 15 min before dipping them in chocolate. This way they hold their shape and do not fall apart when dipping. Try to use the candy melts available at Michaels to dip the cake balls in. While the chocolate is still wet, sprinkle with nuts, sprinkles, etc. If you are not into using frosting which does make it a little sweet, then you can also use flavored syrups or even sugar free syrups such as DaVinci syrups. Just crumble the cooled cake, mix in syrup a little at a time, maybe 1/2 cup, then form into balls, and continue to do same as with the frosting. These are a little less sweet so maybe some might like this technique better and tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gobomel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Made this recipe for Valentines Day, I used red velvet cake, cream cheese frosting and white chocolate. Everyone loved them. I used a lot of the tips given by other reviewers. I used 2/3 of the frosting container and I after forming them into balls with a cookie scoop on a wax paper covered cookie sheet I put them in the freezer for about an hour. That really helped with the chocolate covering process. Definately worth a try...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
Wow! Very good! They were very labor intensive for my standards. I used strawberry cake, vanilla frosting and white chocolate on some. Some I used chocolate and they tasted just like chocolate cherries. I would make these again for a special occasion or holiday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Made w/Germ choco cake and coconut icing! Yum! Easy! Decoated for Valentines day, a big hit. Will make again w/different combos of icing and cake. Great recipe! Mixed by hand with a spoon in a bowl once the cake had cooled then made the balls, put them in the freezer then dipped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
Love these. I made my own cake and frosting from scratch, and dipped them using a plastic fork with the 2 middle 'teeth' broken off. I let my sons help decorate with sprinkles. Fun and delicious. I'll make them again and again, cant wait to experiment with different flavors/colors/decorations. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bat Ma'am

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Normally, I love the convenience of boxed cake mixes & canned frosting. But for cake balls, I've found that using homemade cake & homemade frosting makes for a firmer, more cake-like texture that I prefer. Also, since I find the cake sweet enough on it's own, I usually substitute heavy cream, applesauce, canned pumpkin, coffee, chocolate syrup, or liqueur for the frosting. All it takes is just enough liquid/wet ingredient(s) to adequately moisten the cake so it will hold it's ball shape; otherwise, it ends up with that typical cake ball consistency that is very much (I'm sorry to say) like eating pre-chewed cake & frosting. I've even used raspberry jam (with white cake, along with a bit of heavy cream) with great success. Frankly, the sky's the limit! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Melbourne, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
First time trying these. I used white cake and strawberry coating with butter cream frosting. They were fun to make. They have a hidden heart under the melts. :) I made these pink lemonade ones this time. Yummy. I've made many more cake balls but none as fun as this Ice Cream Cone Sundae cake ball. Try these you'll have so much fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,837) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cake Balls

See how to make easy, fun, and festive cake balls.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States