Cake Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
So these are amazing! Yes they are time-consuming (I personally find rolling the balls the most labor intensive, but I feel that way about those cute meatballs in Holiday Wedding Soup too ;) I agree that boxed mixes make boxed cakes....why not just take your favorite cake recipe, a simple icing recipe and make them from scratch??? Muchhhhhh better! I made the cake/icing mix after cooling the cake 30 min as directed, my icing was a bit thinner than canned so it was easy to add in as needed. I froze the 80 truffle balls overnite on the wax paper lined baking sheets. They were perfect for coating in the chocolate! I did Red Velvet Cake Truffles with Cream cheese icing,dipped in melted Wilton chocolates....white, dark, and milk chocolate. I put 3T of melted chocolate (each variety in separate baggies) drizzled the truffles, and put in mini foil cupcake liners for a party They are beautiful! One cake recipe yielded 80 truffles...so next time I'll 1/2 my recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Fun recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bcontro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by w8n2xhl
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
It is crucial to refrigerate overnight or freeze for at least an hour these cake balls before dipping into chocolate. If making cake pops, melt chocolate and dip the tip of the lollipop stick into the chocolate and stick that tip into the balls (it'll look like tiny caramel apples getting ready for the caramel bath) then stick these in the fridge/freezer to firm up. THEN you can dip into the melted chocolate. For a regular cake mix, I'd only use a cup of the frosting. That is more than enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by w8n2xhl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jeannette, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
I made this for Christmas, and they were a big hit. I loved playing with the flavors. I think our favorite was gingerbread with lemon frosting and vanilla coating. I was a little heavy-handed with the frosting to make the mixture nice and mold-able. And I used a cookie scoop to shape the balls. I'm thinking about trying chocolate with nutella next time I make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
Easy recipe with a lot of option potential. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I'm with the rest of the negative reviews. I don't get it. Followed the instructions using a tub of cream cheese frosting and refrigerated overnight. They were still mushy. I didn't even bother doing the chocolate coating. I didn't want to waste it because I new from the taste of the rest that there were not worth it. I've seen recipes with cream cheese instead of the frosting. Maybe those might be better? Glad I didn't make and send them to my son's school.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPCOCO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by Mrs. Wayman
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
These are a hit whenever I make them! I've done funfetti with sprinkles, red velvet, chocolate. The combinations are endless. Sometimes the simplest recipes are the biggest hits! This is the case with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Wayman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Awesome cake balls! I do completely agree that you have to freeze the balls prior to dipping. I had a hard time with the chocolate dipping but they tasted great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Allison
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
My new obsession... Cake pops. So freaking yummy and fun. I used almost a whole package of the almond bark for a batch. I found that the red velvet cake mix was much more moist than the yellow butter cake I did. With the red velvet cake, I used only about a half cup of frosting. The yellow butter cake was my fave so far, used vanilla frosting and milk chocolate to dip. Can't wait to try other flavor combos like choc. mint or carrot cake. Also, decorating is fun, we are going to do Wrestlemania themed cake balls next month
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Milaca, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
I made these for a Christmas party, and all of them were gobbled up. I used yellow cake, and vanilla frosting that I doctored up with some peppermint extract and red food coloring. I rolled the cake balls in melted semi-sweet chocolate and then sprinkled them with crushed peppermints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,845) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cake Balls

See how to make easy, fun, and festive cake balls.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States