Cake Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
The all chocolate balls were unbelievable! Tried lemon cake w/lemon icing and white bark...not so great. I would stick with the chocolate. My child who doesn't even like sweets fell in love with these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I'm giving this 1 star for very very poor directions. I've never made cake balls before and wanted to make these for an event. Little did I know you had to cool or freeze the batter. Thank you so much to the reviewers for helping me out there. If it wasn't for you, I would be crying in my cake ball batter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovinglife1957

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Brookfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
Used Duncan Hines Red Velvet cake and Pillsbury whipped cr cheese frosting. (not very cr cheese taste - didn't have time to make my own though) Let cake cool completely then processed a little at a time in a food processor - pulsing only about 5 times per batch. Only had to use 3/4 can of frosting. Didn't want them to be mushy as other reviews stated. If it starts crumbling when rolling into balls - try washing your hands. Little bits sticking to my hands seemed to make them not want to hold together. Refrigerated till chilled. Dipped in Wilton white bark pieces. For a garnish I took the same bark pieces and pulsed in the food processor and made them into tiny little flake pieces. Let the dipped cake balls harden just slightly then sprinkled on top. So pretty! My daughter is having a "Brave" themed b-day party and wanted to work something red into a dessert because the main character has bright red hair. Worked perfect! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
This is excellent, always a hit at a BBQ , I made pina colada's : pineapple cake, coconut/pecan frosting and roll in powdered sugar. BIG HIT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
I have made and sold these for several years at craft fairs, they are always a huge hit! I add extracts to kick up the flavor and food coloring to enhance the look.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
We love these! We love to use German chocolate cake with German Chocolate frosting. Delish! Definitely freeze for an hour or longer before dipping into hot chocolate, otherwise, the ball falls apart into your chocolate and then it looks way less appetizing. I may have to make some tomorrow, they just look so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Great (but super sweet) treat! I did make some modifications: 1. Let cake cool for 30 minutes. 2. Mix in 1/2 tub of frosting. 3. Use small scoop to form the balls, place on wax paper and freeze for 30-60 minutes. 4. I made mine into cake pop by dipping the tip of the stick into the melted chocolate and inserting into the cooled cake ball. 5. Used a full bag of the chocolate coating I purchased from craft store. 6. Decorated with sprinkles. 7. Use something to hold the sticks while the chocolate hardens. (Hint- I turned my metal collander upside down and inserted the sticks into the holes- worked great! You could also purchase styrofoam block at craft store) Overall these turned out great, I wrapped them up individually for a bake sale and they were a huge hit! While they take awhile to make, the time is mainly spent waiting on the cake to cool or the balls to chill. For my first batch I made all Chocolate (cake, icing, coating). But I cannot wait to experiment with various flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
These were really good, but the confectioner's coating wasn't good on them, and was a disaster to roll in sprinkles. Next time, I'll use my recipe that's for dipped cookies: melt 12 oz. butterscotch chips, 12 oz. chocolate chips, and half a block of paraffin (wax for candy making) in a double boiler, mixing with a wire whisk until smooth. The mixture turns out very silky, and stays that way. It is a fantastic tasting and easy-to-work-with dip. I used chocolate cake and coconut-pecan frosting, and it was really good (but VERY sweet). I let the cake cool for 30 minutes before mixing in the frosting (used a hand mixer). Putting them in the freezer for a minimum of 3 hours is a must! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Fabulous. Brought them to a party and everyone was so surprised. The problem I had was that the chocolate was not NEAR enough to cover all the cake balls. I had to coat 1/2 of them in powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Addison, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
This was a fun activity with my daughter. The recipe was easy to follow and forms a nice base to make alterations. Tasty, easy and it makes a great presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,837) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cake Balls

See how to make easy, fun, and festive cake balls.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States