Cake Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Yummy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
This is the 2nd time I used this recipe. Very good, but I do not folloow the directions as they are written. There would be way too much icing in the cake balls. Like another reviewer said, you can use coffee, ice cream topping or icing to make the cake stick together. I cut the outside edge of the cake and threw it away. I added coffee and carmel ice cream topping to the cake. You don't need a lot, just enough to make the cake moist, and roll them in balls. Freeze them. Get several out of the freezer at a time and dip them in chocolate. I used toothpicks and it worked great! I think I am going to make German Chocolate Cake Balls the next time I make these. I think they are better than cake. If you listen to these instructions, you will get cake balls that still have a cake consistency. Otherwise, it would be too moist and too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Absolutely delicious! Only need 1/4 can of frosting. If you mix with your hands you'll know when the cake to frosting ratio is just right. I followed another reviewer's suggestion and washed my hands several times while making the balls. It definitely helped keep them in tact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Easy to make and delicious to eat. Makes a truffle like cake ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
These are amazing and a huge hit everytime i make them. I have gave this recipe to about 25 people now who after they try one insist on having the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
These are very delicious! I had trouble keeping the balls together when I dipped them in the chocolate (red velevet covered with white chocolate). I took some suggestions and froze the balls then dipped them, but small pieces kept falling off and by the time I finished there were small flecks of red velvet in my white chocolate. It didn't affect the taste, but it just didn't look as pretty as I wanted. Maybe I did something wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksosbee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yale, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Made these for a kid's party. Easy and a hit. Felt like I was cheating. Next time I will add some kind of "spirit" to make them adult rated. Mmmm (hic)...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
My homemade cake recipe on this site flopped...as in crumbled. So I grabbed the vanilla flavored chips to melt.. yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSMOON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danbury, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Photo by conqueress
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I don't remember WHEN I learned of this recipe - these sell well at bake sales and also no problem to make ahead of time. They keep well at least a week. One thing I also do is make LITTLE cake balls using pretzels instead of pop sticks - great for smaller portions. Pretzels are earth freindly so to speak. I will be making the little ones and big ones for my son's wedding reception. Recently I found a recipe using cream cheese - will try that this week. The book "Cake Pops: Tips, Tricks, and Recipes for More Than 40 Irresistible Mini Treats" adds a lot of fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by conqueress

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA
Photo by amberlynne
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
This was an awesome idea! I used less icing, that's the only "modification" but they turned out delicious! I added a photo of them. I drizzeled white icing over the vanilla cake, and fudge icing over the chocolate cakes to tell them apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amberlynne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,848) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Balls

See how to make easy, fun, and festive cake balls.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States