Cake Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I made them what a disaster. The balls worked out great, a little soft placed, in refrigeration for 2 hrs, melting chocolate was the task and dipping. they kept falling off so I put them in the freezer tried to dip but the choc was a mess never again try that . Next time I will melt the cake icing and pour over the balls and be done
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This is a great recipe...but I did make some changes...DON'T USE THE WHOLE CONTAINER OF ICING! This will give you a mess! Add 1/2 and mix well. Then add to your desired consistency. We like a little drier ball, like a truffle. I use the almond bark, a little bit of shortning to help with look when dried, and definetly try the Andies baking chips. Just enough mint flavor! Yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This recipe is good start... but I have a coupla tips. Definitely chill the balls, makes it way easier, especially if you are making cake pops. Also, I used *half* the recommended frosting, I would have had mush otherwise. Yes, they are supersweet, but a huge hit with school-age kids, especially with crushed peppermint on top for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauralindhe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Springville, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Great recipe! I used Duncan's Dark Chocolate Fudge cake and mixed it with Pillsbury's Peppermint icing. Wonderful combination and I dipped some in white and others in chocolate coating. I did follow others advice and waited till the cake cooled to add frosting and then once mixed I refrigerated the mixture a few hours before making into balls and then refrigerated the balls a few hours before dipping them. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by April

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Yummy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
This is the 2nd time I used this recipe. Very good, but I do not folloow the directions as they are written. There would be way too much icing in the cake balls. Like another reviewer said, you can use coffee, ice cream topping or icing to make the cake stick together. I cut the outside edge of the cake and threw it away. I added coffee and carmel ice cream topping to the cake. You don't need a lot, just enough to make the cake moist, and roll them in balls. Freeze them. Get several out of the freezer at a time and dip them in chocolate. I used toothpicks and it worked great! I think I am going to make German Chocolate Cake Balls the next time I make these. I think they are better than cake. If you listen to these instructions, you will get cake balls that still have a cake consistency. Otherwise, it would be too moist and too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Absolutely delicious! Only need 1/4 can of frosting. If you mix with your hands you'll know when the cake to frosting ratio is just right. I followed another reviewer's suggestion and washed my hands several times while making the balls. It definitely helped keep them in tact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davenport, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Easy to make and delicious to eat. Makes a truffle like cake ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
These are amazing and a huge hit everytime i make them. I have gave this recipe to about 25 people now who after they try one insist on having the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
These are very delicious! I had trouble keeping the balls together when I dipped them in the chocolate (red velevet covered with white chocolate). I took some suggestions and froze the balls then dipped them, but small pieces kept falling off and by the time I finished there were small flecks of red velvet in my white chocolate. It didn't affect the taste, but it just didn't look as pretty as I wanted. Maybe I did something wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksosbee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Yale, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,842) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Balls

See how to make easy, fun, and festive cake balls.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States