Cake Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I have used this recipe several times, works with any cake mix and frosting. Used a whole package of almond bark to coat the balls after leaving them in the freezer overnight to harden. Added a teaspoon of olive oil to thin the chocolate. Made the balls by hand. Put flour on hands to keep the balls from sticking to my hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
My girlfriend and her daughter love making these and they are very popular around the house. One trick they did is follow the instructions all the way but instead of wax paper, go to your local hobby store and buy a styrofoam pad and some thicker sticks, almost like the tootsie pop ones. After you dip the ball, place the stick on the styrofoam and your ball shape will remain perfect. This is good if you like to decorate the balls after for Halloween or other B-day events.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
I used a cheap cake mix with a cheap frosting and it tasted like it. I could try spending more $$$ but can't get past the time it takes to make cake balls. When making into balls it was just too soft. I had waited over two hours for the cake to cool. I ended up freezing the balls before dipping. This recipe is too time consuming for me for what you get. I would never make again. This is coming from a cook who likes making bread, cookies, enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOJANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
This recipe can be expensive and takes a very long time. I say expensive because it tastes very artificial and unpleasant unless you are using quality dipping chocolate, which is hard to find, but worth it. As for the time, you MUST freeze those cake balls before icing them unless you want a huge, gooey mess. Then the individual dipping takes quite a bit of your time as well. It's tedious, so be prepared!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Donna Jo Nemeth
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
These are so yummy! Easy to make but a bit time consuming. Made different flavors, so many fun exciting options. I used a double boiler to melt chocolate and used 2 wooden skewer sticks...worked great. Freezes well. I will definatly make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Jo Nemeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
These were well liked at my party despite looking a bit messy, though I can see why some on here didn't like them. You have to like canned frosting to like these (which I do) because that flavor comes through. Following the advice of others and avoiding these from being mush, I used only a half can of frosting in each of my two batches (red velvet & funfetti) and I recommend doing this, as I liked the texture & wouldn't want them softer. I followed the advice to let the cakes cool at least 30 minutes, and then refrigerated the mixed cake/frosting overnight. After making balls, I placed in freezer for an hour, and they could have even went longer. I tried making my own coating out of white chips & crisco and chocolate chips & crisco. It was thicker than bark & I had to double it & use 6oz of melted chips. Most of my balls also were not completely covered, rather they had globs of hard coating and were not very pretty. They tasted good, but not outstanding. For the effort I had to put in and how sloppy they looked, I won't be making these again. Much easier recipes out there that taste just as good and look better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Berlin, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I have made these and taken them to work 3 times now - every time they've gotten raves! The first time I used a strawberry cake mix, chocolate frosting and chocolate bark; second time was chocolate cake with a little bit of Kahlua flavoring, chocolate frosting and vanilla bark; and this last time was cherry chip cake mix, vanilla frosting and chocolate bark. You could really do just about anything with this recipe. I form them with a cookie dough scoop and usually freeze them overnight before dipping. I will say, though, that a whole can of frosting mixed with the cake is too much. I use a half can or just slightly more and that's plenty. Otherwise they get goopy and don't want to harden very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by izzmerp
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Mine turned out extremely delicious but I have to take away a star for the changes I had to make. After I made the cake and the pan cooled down a bit I put it in the freezer for about 20-40 minutes. You never want to crumble the cake or add the frosting to the cake while it's hot/warm. It makes it harder to mix. You can use your hands to mix the both together but I recommend wearing gloves if you're going to do this so it doesn't get too messy. I didn't have a melon baller or an ice cream scoop to make them so I used my hands. For me, it takes about an hour to make all of them. I freeze the cake circles for 10-20 minutes before I put chocolate on them. I can tell you that this is EASIER than adding chocolate on them after you make them. When you top the chocolate on them it hardens and doesn't drip. I put them in the freezer for about 10-20 minutes then I'm done! I usually leave them in the freezer for about an hour or two before moving them to the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by izzmerp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
The grandkids just loved them! I dipped half in white chocolate and half in dark chocolate, then drizzled them with opposite flavored chocolate. Even the adults loved them especially since you can have just one if you want. The little kids liked sprinkles on top. Your imagination can really go wild with all the different cake, frosting and decorating combinations. Thanks Alison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
I have made these using various flavor combinations:red velvet with cream cheese and white chocolate, german chocolate, and chocolate peanut butter. They are always a huge hit, they make portion control for kids easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,845) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Balls

See how to make easy, fun, and festive cake balls.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States