Cake Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
These turned out yummy, made them with Cherry Chip cake mix and vanilla icing and dipped in melted chocolate wafers. Great flavour combination! My hubby didn't like them much, this was our first time having a cake ball/cake pop and we found the texture kinda weird. I kinda got used to it though - because the flavour was awesome. I brought a bunch to work and they absolutely loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrenalyne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Tasted great, but difficult to make, with dipping it in chocolate, they kept coming apart even with the freezing; could be due to me using whipped frosting. Will make again using a different frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
This is great to make with grand kids! To help them with the dipping, I gave them a pastry brush and a spoon to get the chocolate covering. They/we had fun and they were so proud!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ontario, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
The only problem is that there a step missing. COOL THE BALLS in the refrigerator for an hour before trying to dip them in the chocolate. Kinda an important step to be missing. Otherwise very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Big Bear City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This recipe is not for beginners. It takes quite a bit of time to figure out what works best to get the right results. Came out great, once we figured it out and they are delicious! We colored our cake batter to make it more festive for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This was my first attempt and I made 3 batches for a large Thanksgiving get together. The first I used pumpkin bread, cream cheese frosting and white almond bark with a bit of cinnamon mixed in. The second was red velvet cake, cream cheese frosting and plain white almond bark (then drizzled melted chocolate on top). The third I used a dark chocolate cake (I added 1/2 cup of mini semi sweet chocolate chips), cream cheese frosting and melted semi sweet chips (add a little crisco to thin it out). I couldn't believe how fast they disappeared! The pumpkin were especially a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
These little treats are perfect as gifts! One tip: don't make the balls too large, make them bite size. It's easier to coat them and easier to eat them that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
The cake balls without the chocolate are awesome! I'm having a major issue trying to get the very thick choc on. At the moment my balls are back in the freezer. I've added at least 1/2 cup of skim milk to the chocolate. It's finally running enough, but my balls are soft again. Next time I'll start these a day ahead. Thank you for the great recipe and useful reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
So addictive, and I found out I had to thin the bakers coating with crisco. Made them for a meeting and for my kid's teachers as gifts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 1,850) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Balls

See how to make easy, fun, and festive cake balls.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States