Cake Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I used a variety of combinations, these are very good just very time consuming. Takes longer than it says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weatherford, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I did gluten free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Excellent! I put a candy stick on the end of each ball before dipping in assorted chocolates to make cake pops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This recipe was just ok to me. The process of dipping the balls was extreemly messy, time consuming and in the end the flavor was just ok. I used chocolate fudge cake and peppermint frosting and dipped in both chocolate and vanilla almond bark. I am glad others have had such amazing success, but this recipe was just not for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff and Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseburg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Redmond, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
The kids went nuts over these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aopiuofc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
These are amazing. And they look so professional. If yours come out too mushy just add some powdered sugar to get the correct consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine Tryban Gilchrist

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Elk Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nativeSDgirl
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This was my first attempt at cake balls. After baking the cake I immediately transferred the cake to a glass bowl to cool a bit. I avoided transferring the tough cake edges. I then used 8 ounces of frosting and mixed it in with an electric mixer. The result resembled dough. I formed the balls and put them in the freezer for an hour. Now here comes the hard part, coating the balls. I tried the toothpick method and it didnt work for me. So then I used a fork and spoon which was a lot better but I still was not happy with the result. Some of the coating on the balls even cracked. These are very time consuming so Im not sure I will make them again, considering the way they turned out. They did taste good though. I used red velvet cake and cream cheese frosting. UPDATE****I made another batch with chocolate cake and cream cheese frosting. This time I only used 1/2 cup of frosting. I used a pastry blender to crumble the cake and mix in the frosting. The balls held together nicely while still having the cake texture (not doughy). I tried the toothpick method again. This time I LEFT THE TOOTHPICK IN THE CAKE BALL. Just before the coating dried, but still gooey, I removed the toothpick and the coating settled into the hole. Also if your coating is too thick add a tiny bit of canola oil to loosen it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nativeSDgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
A lot of work and not very good. Maybe another recipe would work better, but this one was a waste of cake, frosting and time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
These are an effort to make (dirty dishes, etc)-but always go over well. and you can customize to whatever holiday or event with sprinkles or coloring white chocolate. I had the most trouble with melting white chocolate. I used white chocolate chips--which didn't melt well--I would recommend using the bakers chocolate-white or chocolate. I used white pearl sprinkles and it looked lovely and covered any imperfect areas! I will make these again. I think it's just one of those recipes that gets better with practice. AND I did not have to use the entire can of frosting. I wasted one whole vanilla cake by using a whole can. I found 2/3 is enough to keep it moist and workable. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie Newbrough

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I made two versions of these. The first was Red Velvet Cake/Cream Cheese Frosting with White Coating topped with Christmas decorations. the second was German Choc. Cake with coconut/pecan frosting dipped in choc. almond bar and then topped with a coconut/pecan blended in my food processor. I thought the second one was better. I agree with the reviewer who had mixed her cake/frosting and then put it in the refrig for a couple of hours. I did the same with my second batch and even after I rolled them, allowed the "balls" to sit for another hour or two. I think these turned out much better than my first batch. The red velvet batch is just starting to come into their own after one day of settling. I think if I would have followed the process I used for my first batch, they would have turned out better. An important note though is that the "insides" are very similiar to a truffle, not dry like a cake, so don't freak out like I did!! I did like these enough though that they will be standards on my Christmas trays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi Blackburn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 1,850) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Balls

See how to make easy, fun, and festive cake balls.

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States