Cake Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
Four stars because they seem to be well liked by others. Not me, too sweet, too messy and I agree with those that said just make cup cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Time consuming but overall very easy to make! I used 1/2-3/4 of frosting and the consistency was perfect. I chilled them in the fridge before dipping them in almond bark. They were a huge hit at a Christmas party. Thanks for the easy instructions!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
I made these for Christmas. I followed other people advice by using a half a can of frosting instead of a full can. They are a little work but well worth it. I made chocolate cake balls and added mint extract to taste to the icing and blended it together, and they were awesome. Thanks again for sharing and so much cheaper than the one at Starbucks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
Yes, of course these were time consuming, but ... Totally worth it! I thought that they looked horrible when I was done but everyone at our family Christmas party and everyone at work loved them and said they looked great! I wasn't going to make them again after realizing the time they take, but with all of the positive feedback I will definately try again! Maybe I will try I different type of coating, since that is what made them look strange to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by L. King
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I'm not a huge fan of frosting, so I personally give these about 3 stars but everyone I gave them to thought they were amazing so that's why I'm giving them 5 stars. I gave them as christmas gifts in tins and they looked great and everyone thought I put a lot more work into them than I did. :) I made the following combos: strawberry/strawberry frosting, red velvet/cream cheese frosting, devil's food/chocolate frosting, chocolate/chocolate frosting & peanut butter, french vanilla/vanilla frosting and crushed oreos. I found that covering them in bark coating was MUCH easier than melted chocolate and I froze them overnight before coating to keep them from falling apart. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Very simple. Very tasty. Just make sure you have enough frosting for that cake so there aren't a lot of cake crumbs. Use too much frosting and it will be too sticky and a bit too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: East Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Made it with home made chocolate cake and frosting, then covered in semisweet chocolate chips. I thought the chocolate coating was too thick, but it was difficult for the coating to be thinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Long Grove, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
watch out for your waist, really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I made three cakes and ended up with thousands of cake balls, lol! Seriously, three cakes makes a ridiculous amount of treats. I mixed strawberry cake mix with vanilla frosting, confetti cake with chocolate frosting, and devil's food cake with cream cheese frosting. I loved the strawberry combo, my hubby preferred the devil's food cake. I should have heeded reviewer's warnings and only used half of the container of frosting because using the entire container AND dipping each one in chocolate creates a very sweet dessert. Almond bark is tasty and buying a package is a lot cheaper than paying for the convenience of pre-made dipping containers which are obsolete after only a few balls. This is such a fun, cheap, and easy recipe that I can't wait to experiment with it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEDGE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
I was SURE everyone, including myself would love these. They sound so good. However, I made them and they were so rich that no one could eat them and I ended up throwing them all out. Sorry, I really wanted to like them. Won't be making them again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,842) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cake Balls

See how to make easy, fun, and festive cake balls.

Slow Cooker Black Forest Cake

See how to make a rich Black Forest cake in the slow cooker!

Dump Cake I

This cake is as easy as, well, dumping ingredients in a pan. So yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States